mint menu wont load since update [solved]

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

mint menu wont load since update [solved]

Postby rdonnelly on Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:26 pm

I did on update on my 32 bit system (not the one in my sig.) a couple of days ago. Ever since I got an error message at log in. Here is the output if I try to run mintmenu from the cli.

Code: Select all
elaine@dell_e310 ~ $ mintmenu

(mintMenu.py:3951): Gtk-WARNING **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "mist",
Opacity is: 98
Setting opacity to: 0.98
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py:113: DeprecationWarning: Use the new widget gtk.Tooltip
  self.tooltips = gtk.Tooltips()
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py:115: DeprecationWarning: Use the new widget gtk.Tooltip
  self.tooltips.enable()
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py:416: DeprecationWarning: Use the new widget gtk.Tooltip
  self.tooltips.set_tip( widget, tip, tipPrivate )
__init__ took 317.463 ms
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py:376: DeprecationWarning: Use the new widget gtk.Tooltip
  self.tooltips.disable()
Binding to Hot Key: <Control>Super_L

** (mintMenu.py:3951): WARNING **: Binding '<Control>Super_L' failed!

/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py:858: Warning: g_object_set_qdata: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  main_window.show()



Any help much appreciated.

Bob
Last edited by rdonnelly on Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mint menu wont load since update

Postby rdonnelly on Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:07 pm

Another problem is update manager is showing errors and wont work.

Code: Select all
ERROR###ERROR###ERROR###ERROR###ERROR###ERROR###ERROR
E:Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: mint menu wont load since update [solved]

Postby rdonnelly on Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:03 pm

Not really solved, more like I caused alot of problems by updating an old spin of LMDE, I am now installing and updating LMDE 201109 and paying very close attention to this thread and the links. viewtopic.php?f=189&t=88879
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests