<SOLVED> A stable LMDE?

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby Pythzor on Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:49 pm

Hello, all, and thank you for all the responses.

I downloaded Linux Mint "Debian" - 201012 Gnome 64-bit from http://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=75, and installed it. Followed http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/497 up to
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4. Run first update



Now its time for the first big update! Type this into terminal:



sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and the screenshot is what's going on now, as I type:
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (84.12 KiB) Viewed 774 times
. There must be something I'm missing, here. How do I get out of that changelog so that the terminal will get on with the dist-upgrade? It's probably real simple, just too simple for me.

Continued help will surely be appreciated. Thank you.
AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor × 2 , 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, Nvidia PNY 210, 1 TB hdd: Windows 7; Ubuntu 13.10; Linux Mint 16 Petra. /// Gateway E4000, Intel Pentium 4, 1.8 Ghz; 1.0 GB RAM, Geforce 5500; 32 bit; Windows 7, PCLinuxOS 201404 Mate Desktop.
Pythzor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby mads on Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:55 pm

Press 'Q' key
User avatar
mads
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1309
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby Pythzor on Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:05 pm

LifeInTheGrey wrote:
Pythzor wrote:Hello, all,

As far as I can tell, iso images are no longer available at - http://mirror.yellowfiber.net/linuxmint ... -amd64.iso. So I'm trying to use what I have: a 32 bit LMDE dvd that I burned last March, to follow LifeInTheGrey's LMDE Squeeze Setup (Complete) http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/497

And just like at viewtopic.php?f=198&t=90141, this attempt is sticking in a changelog in the terminal, update manager won't do it because of "broken packages," and synaptic package manager says it has fixed the dependency issues, but update manager says it isn't so.

This is just an update on where I'm at, presently. I'll be looking for around for 201012 and 201101 ISOs.

Cheers


I'm not sure what you mean ... I just clicked on the link you put in this post, and it started downloading. I'll see if I can find more and I'll put other links in the tutorial, but that one works just fine.

Edit: I've added two additional download sources in the tutorial for both i386 and amd64. I tested them here, all initiated a download, so there should be PLENTY of options now. :D


Are you just being polite? When I click on http://mirror.yellowfiber.net/linuxmint ... -amd64.iso, what I get is: . . . Well, it won't upload and I get the following message from Linux Mint forums:

"The extension html is not allowed.
The upload was rejected because the uploaded file was identified as a possible attack vector.

Let me me try a different way:
banner.jpg
banner.jpg (60.38 KiB) Viewed 769 times
.
AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor × 2 , 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, Nvidia PNY 210, 1 TB hdd: Windows 7; Ubuntu 13.10; Linux Mint 16 Petra. /// Gateway E4000, Intel Pentium 4, 1.8 Ghz; 1.0 GB RAM, Geforce 5500; 32 bit; Windows 7, PCLinuxOS 201404 Mate Desktop.
Pythzor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby twa on Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:16 pm

Pythzor,
is there a specific reason why U download a rather old LMDE iso..201012 ??
:?:
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby Pythzor on Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:24 pm

Pythzor wrote: There must be something I'm missing, here. How do I get out of that changelog so that the terminal will get on with the dist-upgrade? It's probably real simple, just too simple for me.

Continued help will surely be appreciated. Thank you.


From viewtopic.php?f=198&t=90141

asermax wrote:Weird, i have never encountered this changelog screen when updating, either through apt-get or some GUI...
Anyway, for the ":" at the end of the terminal output, i would say that the interface is pretty much the same used on man or vim, you could try pressing "q" and then <Enter> to see if it exits the changelog and continues with the update


AHA! That worked for me. The dist-upgrade is continuing, now.
AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor × 2 , 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, Nvidia PNY 210, 1 TB hdd: Windows 7; Ubuntu 13.10; Linux Mint 16 Petra. /// Gateway E4000, Intel Pentium 4, 1.8 Ghz; 1.0 GB RAM, Geforce 5500; 32 bit; Windows 7, PCLinuxOS 201404 Mate Desktop.
Pythzor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby Pythzor on Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:34 pm

twa wrote:Pythzor,
is there a specific reason why U download a rather old LMDE iso..201012 ??
:?:


Pythzor wrote:
LifeInTheGrey's LMDE Squeeze Setup (Complete) http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/497 ... warns, that LMDE Squeeze Setup (Complete) *NOTE - This applies to the 201012 and 201101 ISOs ONLY ...
AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor × 2 , 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, Nvidia PNY 210, 1 TB hdd: Windows 7; Ubuntu 13.10; Linux Mint 16 Petra. /// Gateway E4000, Intel Pentium 4, 1.8 Ghz; 1.0 GB RAM, Geforce 5500; 32 bit; Windows 7, PCLinuxOS 201404 Mate Desktop.
Pythzor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby Pythzor on Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:55 pm

I suppose the answer is self-evident, but I'm asking for advice anyway:
Screenshot-Terminal.png
Screenshot-Terminal.png (39.88 KiB) Viewed 755 times
.

What do you all think?

Thank you for the help.
AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor × 2 , 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, Nvidia PNY 210, 1 TB hdd: Windows 7; Ubuntu 13.10; Linux Mint 16 Petra. /// Gateway E4000, Intel Pentium 4, 1.8 Ghz; 1.0 GB RAM, Geforce 5500; 32 bit; Windows 7, PCLinuxOS 201404 Mate Desktop.
Pythzor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby GeneC on Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:21 pm

Pythzor

I said YES to everything :mrgreen: when I set up my LMDE-Stable-Debian Backports.
Has been most excellent this past month.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby LifeInTheGrey on Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:30 pm

Pythzor wrote:Are you just being polite? When I click on http://mirror.yellowfiber.net/linuxmint ... -amd64.iso, what I get is: . . . Well, it won't upload and I get the following message from Linux Mint forums:

"The extension html is not allowed.
The upload was rejected because the uploaded file was identified as a possible attack vector.

Let me me try a different way:
banner.jpg
.


That is crazy! No, I've never seen that before, seriously. Weird.

But like I said, there are a couple other download options on the tutorial, and someone else in the thread referenced the post on linuxmint.com for the different editions to download. So should be no worries now.
the beauty of linux is that the rabbit hole goes as deep as you want it to go.
LifeInTheGrey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:38 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby Pythzor on Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:45 am

Pythzor wrote:
LifeInTheGrey wrote:
Pythzor wrote:Hello, all,

As far as I can tell, iso images are no longer available at - http://mirror.yellowfiber.net/linuxmint ... -amd64.iso.


I'm not sure what you mean ... I just clicked on the link you put in this post, and it started downloading. I'll see if I can find more and I'll put other links in the tutorial, but that one works just fine.

Edit: I've added two additional download sources in the tutorial for both i386 and amd64. I tested them here, all initiated a download, so there should be PLENTY of options now. :D




I see YellowFiber is back up and running. Looks like I first showed up there at a bad time.

Thank you for all the links and advice and tutorials and knowledgeable posts.
AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor × 2 , 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, Nvidia PNY 210, 1 TB hdd: Windows 7; Ubuntu 13.10; Linux Mint 16 Petra. /// Gateway E4000, Intel Pentium 4, 1.8 Ghz; 1.0 GB RAM, Geforce 5500; 32 bit; Windows 7, PCLinuxOS 201404 Mate Desktop.
Pythzor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: A stable LMDE?

Postby Pythzor on Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:26 am

mads wrote:Press 'Q' key


Thank you.
AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor × 2 , 2.8 GHz, 6 GB, Nvidia PNY 210, 1 TB hdd: Windows 7; Ubuntu 13.10; Linux Mint 16 Petra. /// Gateway E4000, Intel Pentium 4, 1.8 Ghz; 1.0 GB RAM, Geforce 5500; 32 bit; Windows 7, PCLinuxOS 201404 Mate Desktop.
Pythzor
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests