update / aptitude problems [ SOLVED ]

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

update / aptitude problems [ SOLVED ]

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:11 am

Hi
I have tried to update my system several times now and each time it come up saying that there were errors. using aptitude it goes by so fast that I can't read the red error message.
using the update manager I get the following

http://www.debian.linuxmint.com/latest/ ... /inrelease errors
http://www.debian.linuxmint.com/latest/ ... elease.gpg errors

looking at the pack info page it says that my system is pointing to " Linux Mint Debian Latest "

My sources.list is as follows

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free

Can you please tell me where it is wrong ? so that I can update my system correctly :D
Last edited by Dar-es-Salaam on Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: update / aptitude problems

Postby xircon on Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:34 am

Run:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update > errors.txt && gedit errors.txt


At least that way you can read the errors :)
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: update / aptitude problems

Postby Gerd50 on Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:59 am

Gordon, the www. in the multimedia line of your sources.list doesn't belong there.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: update / aptitude problems

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:34 pm

Hi Gerd50 , xircon.

Thanks for the replies folks.

I hadn't spotted the www in my sources.list so will remove that :D

I will run you command Gerd50 then I will at least know what's going on :D

:D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: update / aptitude problems [ SOLVED ]

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:20 am

Hi Gerd50 , xircon.

Well folks as you can se problem solved. removing the www did the trick

Thanks for your help with my trouble's :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: update / aptitude problems [ SOLVED ]

Postby secipolla on Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:01 pm

At least with apt-get you can view the terminal messages in /var/log/apt/term.log
secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bithir, Google [Bot] and 3 guests