after update must hold down right mouse button [solved]

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

after update must hold down right mouse button [solved]

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:02 pm

All,

Last night I did a routine upgrade and now when I right click I get the popup menu as normal, but I have to hold down the right button while I slide the pointer down to whatever item in the menu I want to perform. I find this very unpleasant, I'd much rather be able to click and release the right button to bring up the menu as before, then slide down to the item I want and then left click to peform that action. I can understand that for some folks this change would be welcome, since one click>release are all that's needed, but it doesn't work for me. How can I change that back?
Last edited by rayandrews on Sun Mar 11, 2012 5:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby viking777 on Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:11 pm

It is not a new feature, it is a fault. It might help diagnosis if we knew what it was that was upgraded, so open synaptic package manager go to File>History and copy the list from there for the relevant date/time. Also you had better tell us what update repositories you are using, Testing, Incoming or Latest. I can't promise that information will give us the cause or the cure, but it won't hurt.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:15 pm

viking777 wrote:It is not a new feature, it is a fault. It might help diagnosis if we knew what it was that was upgraded, so open synaptic package manager go to File>History and copy the list from there for the relevant date/time. Also you had better tell us what update repositories you are using, Testing, Incoming or Latest. I can't promise that information will give us the cause or the cure, but it won't hurt.


viking,

That was fast! Ok, stand by, I'll post that info momentarily. I just assumed that this was some new, latest, greatest way of using the mouse.
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:23 pm

... Nuts, I'm about to mirror my main install to another disk, and prior to that I run BleachBit -- I think I deleted the upgrade logs :( Anyway, yesterday there were three recommended upgrades as I recall, so it's in one of those. As to repositories, there is a plain text file that lists those is there not? I can't remember it. Give me the name and I'll copy it here, tx.
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby viking777 on Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:54 pm

Without the upgrade logs (which bleachbit will destroy) the other info is not going to mean much, but anyway it is called /etc/apt/sources.list. But unless you know what you have upgraded I really don't know how anyone is going to help you of course I don't know everything by a long way so I could be wrong.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:07 pm

.... I figure someone else is bound to have the same issue, since I was just doing the sock upgrades, so maybe it will come out in the wash.
Hmmm, I have a backup install, let me boot that, it hasn't been bleached. The repository file will be accurate and when I upgrade it, it will grab more stuff (since it's not as up to date) but, again, whatever it is will be in the most recent upgrades produced, so ...
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:09 pm

FWIW sources.list:

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport
#backport romeo
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:00 pm

viking,

Well I dunno, I booted my backup install, did the upgrades and everything was fine. Then I went back to my main install and it had sorted itself out. We'll never know what caused it. Maybe some changes just require a reboot. Thanks tho!
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby viking777 on Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:06 pm

rayandrews wrote:FWIW sources.list:

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport
#backport romeo
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free


Hmm, puzzling.
These are the repos for lmde latest:

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free


And these are the repos for LMDE testing:

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free


And yours appear to be a mixture of the two. This may, that is, MAY, account for the problem I don't know for sure.
I would suggest that what you probably want is the first of those two sets of repos rather than a mixture of the two. But you may know differently, it is not my machine after all.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:22 pm

viking777 wrote:
rayandrews wrote:FWIW sources.list:

Hmm, puzzling.
These are the repos for lmde latest:

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free


And these are the repos for LMDE testing:

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free


And yours appear to be a mixture of the two. This may, that is, MAY, account for the problem I don't know for sure.
I would suggest that what you probably want is the first of those two sets of repos rather than a mixture of the two. But you may know differently, it is not my machine after all.


At some point I was trying to get KDE installed and the dependencies refused to come out right. Someone advised me to modify my repos as shown. I suppose I'd better fix that, I can hardly complain about bugs if I'm not running something reasonably standard. Which of the two you posted should I use? I'm happy to test, so I presume the latter. I often find bugs that other dudes miss because I often do things a bit strangely. It's long past time I started trying to make myself useful. BTW, I wish the 'Save Preview Submit buttons were duplicated above the text box, it would save having to scroll down just to hit the button.
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:52 pm

viking,

FWIW, I've gone with the 'testing' repos. I hit system update, and it wants to update 1200 packages!!

So I'm doing that now. God be with me.
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby viking777 on Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:26 am

Yes it would do that as you are mainly tracking 'latest' so I thought that is what you wanted. Too late now I guess, but good luck anyway. I am sorry to say it, but your chances of coming through an update like that unscathed are approaching zero. That is why you have to update debian (testing) regularly (daily preferably but at least weekly), that way you have got a chance of figuring out what updates caused what problems, but with 1200+ updates you have no chance of working that out.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:56 pm

viking777 wrote:Yes it would do that as you are mainly tracking 'latest' so I thought that is what you wanted. Too late now I guess, but good luck anyway. I am sorry to say it, but your chances of coming through an update like that unscathed are approaching zero. That is why you have to update debian (testing) regularly (daily preferably but at least weekly), that way you have got a chance of figuring out what updates caused what problems, but with 1200+ updates you have no chance of working that out.


Zero is right! Looks like I've feed myself to the lions. On rebooting this morning it looked like I was going to win, but then Gnome 3 started to load :-( I had no idea this 'testing' was going to try to convert me to Gnome 3, if I had, I'd not have done anything so foolish as to try it. Gnome 3 refuses to load, and leaves me with two black screens with only the mouse pointer working. I'm here with my backup install. Is there any way to destroy the monster and get back to Gnome 2.x? I'm happy to run a testing version of LMDE but only if I can avoid Gnome 3 -- which I believe Linus himself called 'a disease'.
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby squeezy on Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:58 pm

rayandrews wrote: Is there any way to destroy the monster and get back to Gnome 2.x? I'm happy to run a testing version of LMDE but only if I can avoid Gnome 3 -- which I believe Linus himself called 'a disease'.


The only ways to avoid Gnome 3 are to not upgrade to UP4 (temporary solution) or run the Xfce version.
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby viking777 on Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:09 pm

You can only avoid gnome3 by avoiding gnome altogether (KDE, Xfce,Lmde, Fluxbox etc.etc) Gnome3 is the future so live with it or drop gnome. For me gnome 3 is the best thing that has happened to gnome in over a decade, but then I hated gnome2 about as much as you hate gnome3. (btw linus changed his mind later on).

Of course if gnome3 doesn't load then you won't be able to appreciate how good it is.

For the time being I don't think there is much you can do. I don't suppose you have a disk image of your previous version? No of course you don't or you wouldn't be asking. What is your 'backup install'?

If that is a disk image of LMDE, then all you have to do is change the sources to the one I first recommended

I would suggest that what you probably want is the first of those two sets of repos


And update again. If your backup install is another distro then I fear you will only be able to start from scratch with a fresh install of LMDE.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:56 pm

viking777 wrote:You can only avoid gnome3 by avoiding gnome altogether (KDE, Xfce,Lmde, Fluxbox etc.etc) Gnome3 is the future so live with it or drop gnome. For me gnome 3 is the best thing that has happened to gnome in over a decade, but then I hated gnome2 about as much as you hate gnome3. (btw linus changed his mind later on).

Of course if gnome3 doesn't load then you won't be able to appreciate how good it is.

For the time being I don't think there is much you can do. I don't suppose you have a disk image of your previous version? No of course you don't or you wouldn't be asking. What is your 'backup install'?

If that is a disk image of LMDE, then all you have to do is change the sources to the one I first recommended
I would suggest that what you probably want is the first of those two sets of repos


And update again. If your backup install is another distro then I fear you will only be able to start from scratch with a fresh install of LMDE.


viking,

Well well, a Gnome 3 fan! You know, my mission in my computing life is to sort out why some people love (say) G3 while other people detest it. It seems to me that we eventually need 'left brain' distros and 'right brain' distros -- it could be that the 'please everyone' distro is simply impossible. Anyway, I can't try it because it won't boot, and I hear that it's notorious for trouble with dual monitors.

My backup install is just that, another partition with a 'safe' install of LMDE, and that's fine, so I'm really not in any trouble :-) On my main install (the one I just screwed up) I ran 'apt-get remove libgtk-3-common' and it seems to have killed the beast. For some reason my system then booted to Xfce4! and I'm going to give that a try.

Oh, if Linus did indeed change his mind about G3 I'd be very interested to read about it. Do you have a link?

Thanks for the help!
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby viking777 on Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:14 am

Well well, a Gnome 3 fan! You know, my mission in my computing life is to sort out why some people love (say) G3 while other people detest it. It seems to me that we eventually need 'left brain' distros and 'right brain' distros


You know what, that is a fascinating idea! Subconsciously that may be the case who knows. On a more conscious level though, the reasons I could never stand gnome2 was that awful monstrosity of a menu (I don't mind the fact it was at the top instead of the bottom, I only mind the fact that it was impossible to ever find anything in it and therefore it was not fit for purpose). Strange thing is though that I have read many posts mourning its passing and begging to know how to get it back again :shock:

Dual monitors? Well I suppose I could post a screenshot, but perhaps you will just believe me - I have dual monitors. They are different types and different sizes and gnome3 works perfectly well with them. Graphics drivers are more of the problem here. Certainly with my Nvidia card the default Nouveau driver is hopeless, you might as well just have the old 'vesa' instead. But once I install the Nvidia proprietary drivers (and my old xorg.conf which I have kept for years), everything works exactly as it should.

Good luck with Xfce I hope that 'floats your boat' as they say.

Linus's opinions -

http://techhamlet.com/2011/12/linus-tor ... t-gnome-3/

Pay particular attention to the last paragraph of that site.

Gnome-shell (which is the desktop environment of gnome3 - people very often confuse the two) is like a framework on which you build the type of desktop environment you want. In it's basic form I didn't like gnome-shell either, but it takes a little bit of work to make it what you want, and the extensions site linked to in that post is the tool that can make this happen, usually with very little knowledge, only the ability to first, know what it is you want, and second to point and click a mouse. Some people of course don't even know what they want and others can't be bothered to take the time to install extensions that give them what they want, they prefer someone else to do it for them (which is what Mint are doing with Cinnamon) but for me something that somebody else has fashioned for you can never be as good as something you have had a hand in yourself and that is why I like gnome3, it doesn't matter which side of your brain is dominant, as long as you are prepared to use it you can fashion something that will suit you. It is really just like putting different wallpaper on your desktop or themes on your browser - only far more important. I feel sorry for the people that have dashed away to Xfce and the like, they are missing out on something quite good and Linus was man enough to admit that, good on him. (I am not saying this applies to you particularly, it looks to me as if you have no choice but to use Xfce at the moment).

Lastly, congratulations on having a backup install - so many people don't bother. I would check the sources.list for that as well and make sure it is set to the 'latest' repos as mentioned earlier. However in a week or so even 'latest' will be getting gnome3 (it is already in 'Incoming') so prepare yourself for that. How? Disk Images are the best way, I always refer people to this thread nowadays:

viewtopic.php?f=197&t=89189

It is worth while getting to grips with if you have the time, it will save a lot of tears later on. The latest post I saw in that thread says that there is now an English language version available (previously German).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: after update must hold down right mouse button

Postby rayandrews on Sun Mar 11, 2012 5:29 pm

So it seems this is a Thunar issue, not a general issue. I didn't realize that until I tried Dolphin and had no trouble. Anyway the fix is to do: Menu > Settings > Appearance ... then Pick any 'Style' except the "Mint" ones.
rayandrews
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:56 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests