Graphics Card problems with Incoming [ Gone Back to Testing

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Graphics Card problems with Incoming [ Gone Back to Testing

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:46 am

Hi

Why is it that when I do a fresh install it works ok and my graphics card is found and accepted but when I switch to incomming and do an upgrade it fails to work ? I used to be on incomming until it wouldn't find my graphics card, that is it only seemed to go to a shell, I think that is what you call it, and I don't know how to get round it.
At present I am on latest but would like to be on inccomming as part of the testing thing even though I don't know a lot about LINUX.
Last edited by Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:38 am, edited 2 times in total.
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Graphics Card problems with Incoming

Postby viking777 on Sat Mar 03, 2012 1:18 pm

Have you tried sgfxi?

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=86154&p=497881&hilit=sgfxi#p497881

It just works. (in my experience).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Graphics Card problems with Incoming

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:18 am

Hi viking777

Well I tried the commands that you suggested with no luck. I first tried it in root terminal and got the following message

ERROR: (250) You must be out of X/Desktop (like KDE, Gnome, Flux, LXDE etc) to run this feature.

So I have just tried it in recouvery mode and have got the following

Date time -- http://smxi.org/sgfxi
resolving smxi.org (smxi.org) ...... failed: name or service not found
wget; unable to resolve host address smxi.org

I have tried this on my working version in testing. Does this mean that I have to upgrade to incomming before the commands you gave me will work ? if so then I will upgrade and try again :)
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: Graphics Card problems with Incoming

Postby viking777 on Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:18 am

I have tried this on my working version in testing. Does this mean that I have to upgrade to incomming before the commands you gave me will work ? if so then I will upgrade and try again :)


No that won't make any difference.

The starting point you want is a virtual terminal - Ctl/Alt/F1

The first line in the post I linked to is really meant for people that have already tried to upgrade by some other means and have failed which means they are stuck in a terminal login anyway, but obviously you aren't. I admit it doesn't read that way, I will have to amend it a bit.

I would guess that it won't work from recovery mode because you don't have internet connectivity in that mode (maybe wireless drivers not loaded?). Anyway try again from vt1.

BTW don't forget that in the virtual terminal you log in as user root not your usual username (usual password though).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Graphics Card problems with Incoming

Postby twa on Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:08 am

Dar-es-Salaam,
resolving smxi.org (smxi.org) ...... failed: name or service not found
wget; unable to resolve host address smxi.org

my understanding is that U do not have smxi installed.
if U have it..
Ctrl/Alt/F1
and this window must open
Attachments
Schermata-Terminale.png
Schermata-Terminale.png (45.65 KiB) Viewed 1245 times
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: Graphics Card problems with Incoming

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:35 pm

Hi viking777

Well I change my repro's to incomming and did the upgrade then rebooted. Signed is as root and ran your first command

cd /usr/local/bin ...etc

came up with the following

file is already retrieved; nothing to do
error (244) xorg does not appear to be installed
exiting script now.

yet when i press the main pc button to shut it down it says

stopping display manager gdm3

so why does it not give me the display that I know ?
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: Graphics Card problems with Incoming

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:41 pm

Hi TWA,

Thanks for that ctl/alt/f1 worked anyway so must have been installed
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: Graphics Card problems with Incoming [ Gone Back to Test

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:44 am

Hi All


Thanks for all your help but I am sorry to say that is obviously beyond my limited knowledge of LINUX to sort out what is going on. I did try but I could not get it to work so I have gone back to Testing Repros as they work ok

I will try again some time in the future when I have more knowledge of what is going on. :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest