recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby swright007 on Mon May 28, 2012 9:26 am

I am used to installing Recordmydesktop in Mate edition. I tried LMDE because a friend recommended it. I LOVE LMDE because I can maneuver way better than in regular Debian ! That being said-- I just tried to install Recordmydesktop and couldn't find how to make the sound work.

In Mate you select the mixer's"Sound Settings" and click on the Hardware tab. In Hardware you could select if you wanted Internal sound "Analog Stereo Output" or sound from an external source "Analog Stereo Duplex". There is no such Hardware tab in LMDE's almost identical control. How do I make that setting so I can get my on-board sound recorded? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Scott Wright

I also tried Istanbul but prefer Recordmydesktop. Any help with either program would be welcome.
User avatar
swright007
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:48 pm
Location: Hot Springs, Arkansas USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby xenopeek on Mon May 28, 2012 9:47 am

Moved here by moderator

Please don't cross-post, see the forum rules :wink: I deleted your other post, as it was missing the Istanbul comment.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14987
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby swright007 on Mon May 28, 2012 10:00 am

It wasn't intentional. I forgot that I was looking for the answer under tutorials and thought I was still in Newbies. I didn't mean to post there. Thank you for deleting it for me.

Scott Wright
User avatar
swright007
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:48 pm
Location: Hot Springs, Arkansas USA

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby ukbrian on Mon May 28, 2012 3:30 pm

You should have a pulse audio volume control in the multimedia menu, if you run that when your recording there is a record tab in the volume control screen where you can set things.
If you don't have the pulse audio volume control then install pavucontrol
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby swright007 on Mon May 28, 2012 3:59 pm

installed pavucontrol and still have nothing but static. I made the switch to internal audio and Stereo output but it isn't working like in MATE version. There is nothing in the recording tab and nothing in the input tab... I have controls for OSS and ALSA but no controls for Pulse Audio. However, it says Pulse Audio is installed when I try to install it through apt-get
User avatar
swright007
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:48 pm
Location: Hot Springs, Arkansas USA

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby ukbrian on Tue May 29, 2012 10:37 am

This lnk might help you http://thistleweb.co.uk/screencast/linux/gtk-recordmydesktop

I also seem to remember adding padsp before recordmy desktop "padsp recordmydesktop" it wasn't written for pulse and I think that enables it.
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby äxl on Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:54 pm

swright007 wrote:However, it says Pulse Audio is installed when I try to install it through apt-get

Which one?
Code: Select all
~ $ dpkg -l | grep pulse
ii  gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio                      0.10.31-1                       GStreamer plugin for PulseAudio
ii  libpulse-mainloop-glib0                       1.1-3                           PulseAudio client libraries (glib support)
ii  libpulse0                                     1.1-3                           PulseAudio client libraries
ii  pulseaudio                                    1.1-3                           PulseAudio sound server
ii  pulseaudio-esound-compat                      1.1-3                           PulseAudio ESD compatibility layer
ii  pulseaudio-module-gconf                       1.1-3                           GConf module for PulseAudio sound server
ii  pulseaudio-module-x11                         1.1-3                           X11 module for PulseAudio sound server
ii  pulseaudio-module-zeroconf                    1.1-3                           Zeroconf module for PulseAudio sound server
ii  pulseaudio-utils                              1.1-3                           Command line tools for the PulseAudio sound server
My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.
User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby swright007 on Thu Jun 07, 2012 4:54 am

all is says is:
Code: Select all
pulseaudio is already the newest version
 0 upgraded,  0 newly installed,  0 to remove and 0 not upgraded 



I look it up another way and find these installed :

gl-streamer0.10-pulseaudio
libpulse-mainloop-glib0
libpulse0
pulseaudio-esound-compat
pulseaudio-module-gconf
pulseaudio-module-x11
pulseaudio-module-zeroconf
pulseaudio-utils
pulseaudio
User avatar
swright007
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:48 pm
Location: Hot Springs, Arkansas USA

Re: recordmydesktop and Istanbul not recording audio

Postby äxl on Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:58 pm

If I'm understanding you correctly you have no Devices list in mate-volume-control?
With (Alsa Mixer) I get a tab called Recording ...

Also look here for alternatives: viewtopic.php?f=196&t=99922
My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.
User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests