can't login LMDE 2012

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:30 pm

hey guyz

i'm a newbie in LMDE, i've installed it yesterday and today i can't login, that's ridiculous,
everytime i face this message, if i want to login with cinnamon:

"your session only lasted less than 10 seconds BLA BLA BLA"
and the details:(~/.xsession.errors file)
/rtc/mdm/Xsession: beginning session setup...
localuser: light-blue being added to accecc control list
failed to connect to the virtualbox kernel service
/usr/bin/gnome-session-cinnamon: 2: exec: gnome-session: not found
....
and for another session, xfce, when i want to login, it does nothing but show my cursor in a blank screen, i wait about half an hour to see if anything happens, and nothing happened
...
any solution or i have to get rid of this distro, like other buggy ones ; ( K/Ubuntu, Debian )?

.....
PS:
i'm a long time windows user, i can do any thing with windows, windows server or any microsoft based THINGS. that's very easy and userfriendly, but here, OMG!!!,

recently i'm trying to find a very good linux distro, i've tried ubuntu, kubuntu, debian linux mint 13 and now LMDE, "ubuntu, kubuntu, debian " really suck, and now i'm really interested in LMDE, but it seems to be very very very buggy, as it can't do very simple tasks and it's very willing to stop working, like this time, i just installed it yesterday
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby zerozero on Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:49 pm

[moved here]
installed yesterday (and i assume that at the time was working) and today you can't login :!: let's see: something happened in that between, software just doesn't go kaboom over night.
- what have you changed (even the slightest thing counts)?
- what software have you installed? or removed?
- did you installed proprietary graphic drivers? if so how?
- did you updated the system? how?
- what system exactly you have installed? what hardware is it running on?
- post the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -SGxr


see? a lot of info missing to properly help you :)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sat Jul 07, 2012 2:16 pm

hey zerozero
thanks for your reply
yup, you're right, software just doesn't go kaboom over night. :)
...
i installed wine (which was so hard in contrast to ubuntu)
then installed spotify,
installed "spyder" (for python programming)
tried to activate hibernation, which i couldn't make it happen at last. (maybe this is what has made my problem)
installed google chrome (it didn't appear in menu, and i don't know why)
installed drop box ,
installed gsynaptics and gpointer (or something like this) to be able to use my multi-touch touchpad

i have an ACER 5741G, 4 GB Ram, Nvidia, geforce GT320 1024 MG Vram,
i didn't installed anything related to my graphic card and i didn't activate compiz or any other graphical app

(and something else, i can't see any option for logging in in MATE, there're only these options :1.last session 2.run Xclient script 3.cinnamon 4.secure remote connection)

and this is what you said:
http://i45.tinypic.com/2415qhg.jpg
Image



any hope?




thanks in advance :)
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:14 am

Any help?!!!!???!!
somebody? anybody
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby zerozero on Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:32 am

light-blue,
unfortunately i can't see nothing obvious there (like a big error that would popup straight away) but a few things that could accumulate to this:
- wine: it's not in the repo, how did you install it?
- hibernation: what exactly you tried? did you altered some config files? did you followed any howto? which one?

i assume that at this point you still have internet in that system;
try this:
- when you get to the command prompt type your username and password;
then:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
and
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -f install
we want to see if there's something wrong with the installed software (if you get errors in this part take a note of them > probably a picture would be the best)

after this try
Code: Select all
startx
this should start the GUI, if it doesn't you probably will see errors in the screen, report those errors.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:02 am

zerozero wrote:light-blue,
unfortunately i can't see nothing obvious there (like a big error that would popup straight away) but a few things that could accumulate to this:
- wine: it's not in the repo, how did you install it?
- hibernation: what exactly you tried? did you altered some config files? did you followed any howto? which one?

i assume that at this point you still have internet in that system;
try this:
- when you get to the command prompt type your username and password;
then:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
and
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -f install
we want to see if there's something wrong with the installed software (if you get errors in this part take a note of them > probably a picture would be the best)

after this try
Code: Select all
startx
this should start the GUI, if it doesn't you probably will see errors in the screen, report those errors.


hey again , thanks for reply

for wine; i downloaded all ".deb" amd64 packages in this link
http://dev.carbon-project.org/debian/wine-unstable/
then entering following commands:
sudo dpkg -i libwine*
sudo dpkg -i wine-bin*
sudo dpkg -i wine-unstable*
sudo apt-get -f install (because some of them failed in previous part)
(i saw this tutorial in your website)

for hibernation i followed this link:
viewtopic.php?f=197&t=97684

....
which system do i have internet in?
i'm using windows at the moment in another drive
but i can't log in into my LMDE, so i don't have any internet access in that OS,
( or maybe i have, but i don't know how to enable it; maybe i can connect to my wifi router with command line, but i don't know how to do that :? )
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby zerozero on Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:11 am

but i can't log in into my LMDE, so i don't have any internet access in that OS,
( or maybe i have, but i don't know how to enable it; maybe i can connect to my wifi router with command line, but i don't know how to do that :? )

usually it's only the GUI that doesn't display, the rest (the system itself) is fuctional (as you could see above when you gave the output of inxi SGrx)
so i think you have net (even if you don't have a graphical display)
give it a try.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:33 am

zerozero wrote:
but i can't log in into my LMDE, so i don't have any internet access in that OS,
( or maybe i have, but i don't know how to enable it; maybe i can connect to my wifi router with command line, but i don't know how to do that :? )

usually it's only the GUI that doesn't display, the rest (the system itself) is fuctional (as you could see above when you gave the output of inxi SGrx)
so i think you have net (even if you don't have a graphical display)
give it a try.


hey again
yup, i had internet :)
i did what you said;
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade executed smoothly, it downloaded some THINGS
sudo apt-get -f install did nothing, as it said 0 packages updates bla bla
but startx gave me following error:

xauth: file /home/lightblue/.Xauthority doesn't exist

fatal server error:
server is already active for display 0
if this server is no longer running , remove /tmp/.xo-lock and start again

invalid mit-magic-cookie-1
xinit : unable to connect to x server: resource temporarily unavailable
xinit: server error


..............
PS:
i think there must be something related to gnome-session-cinnamon:
can i reinstall it?

is there any way to get MATE?
as there are only cinnamon and Xclient script available

or maybe is there any way to install KDE?
there must be something :oops:
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby zerozero on Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:56 am

i'm trying to track down the error and apparently it boils down to
Code: Select all
invalid mit-magic-cookie-1

i see some stuff in the net about this (some of it complex and vague) but one recurrent is referring to .Xauthority*
i don't really feel very confortable giving you advises to rm a file (specially if i never tried that myself) but if you want to try (totally at your risk) the command would be
Code: Select all
sudo rm ~/.Xauthority*
(be very very careful copying this command, a mistake in a space and you delete the home folder)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:56 am

zerozero wrote:i'm trying to track down the error and apparently it boils down to
Code: Select all
invalid mit-magic-cookie-1

i see some stuff in the net about this (some of it complex and vague) but one recurrent is referring to .Xauthority*
i don't really feel very confortable giving you advises to rm a file (specially if i never tried that myself) but if you want to try (totally at your risk) the command would be
Code: Select all
sudo rm ~/.Xauthority*
(be very very careful copying this command, a mistake in a space and you delete the home folder)


i did that several times, but every time i got this message:
no such file or directory .
i think i don't have anything related to Xauthority


i really appreciate your time and energy,
but if there's not other method, i try to reinstall all things from scratch,
but for the god's sake, give me a method to make a restore point or something from a working and stable condition of my linux OS,
windows has both restore points and os image, it also has something called "last known good condition" which tries to find the best condition in the past that your OS used to work properly, that's a shame that not linux distro has something like this, and there's no software for that
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby zerozero on Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:17 pm

light-blue,
i'm sorry that this is not working :oops:
unfortunately you don't have restore points in linux, the closest thing you can get is backup the installed system;
one of the ways is http://clonezilla.org/ (it might look a bit strange at first - better look for some youtube vids) or qt4-fsarchiver

about the installation, i would recommend to go in small steps (specially if you are new to it)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:45 pm

zerozero wrote:light-blue,
i'm sorry that this is not working :oops:
unfortunately you don't have restore points in linux, the closest thing you can get is backup the installed system;
one of the ways is http://clonezilla.org/ (it might look a bit strange at first - better look for some youtube vids) or qt4-fsarchiver

about the installation, i would recommend to go in small steps (specially if you are new to it)


so there's nothing more?
:(
that's sooooooooo bad
by the way, many thanks for your support
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby oobetimer on Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:25 pm

You could make a new user, so there should not be Xauthority-problems.

su
useradd -m someuser -s /bin/bash
passwd someuser
User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby light-blue on Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:21 pm

oobetimer wrote:You could make a new user, so there should not be Xauthority-problems.

su
useradd -m someuser -s /bin/bash
passwd someuser


hi,
thanks for your reply
i did that too,
nothing changed
i also enabled root and tried to do something with that authority,
nothing happened again
...

but you know what made it work again?
i reinstalled it , but this time i installed linux mint 13 - maya, not LMDE, i hope this doesn't have such a difficulty
light-blue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: can't login LMDE 2012

Postby refrainblue on Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:25 pm

I had this same problem and I just fixed it.

First time it occurred was after I was uninstalling and installing packages. Among them being Nvidia drivers and stuff. I was running Cinnamon, and it froze. I had to hard reboot my computer. Afterwards, I couldn't login to Cinnamon without it crashing out with the same 'Xsession - failed to connect to the virtualbox kernel service' errors. MATE was working fine though.

Here's what I did to fix Cinnamon:

1. Go to the console (ctr+alt+F1) and stop mdm.
Code: Select all
service mdm stop

2. Remove old nvidia stuff. If you had previously installed Nvidia's proprietary drivers like I did, uninstall it.
Code: Select all
apt remove nvidia-*
OR
Code: Select all
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-304.51.run --uninstall
(Nvidia proprietary) use your own version number

3. Download and install Nvidia's proprietary driver and run it.
Code: Select all
./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-304.51.run
use your own version number

4. Choose No for DKMS, it didn't work for me.

5. run xconfig to setup your x server
Code: Select all
nvidia-xconfig

6. Restart MDM
Code: Select all
service mdm start

7. Works for me, no more errors.
refrainblue
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests