Change default audio output device

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
styounes

Change default audio output device

Post by styounes »

First off let me say that, after distro-hopping for a while, I have found, in my opinion, the best Linux distribution ever in Linux mint. As a hobbyist programmer, I can definitely say it is not easy to make great software. So hats off to the developers!

Now on to the question: see the title. I am running Linux mint Debian Edition (x64) and have USB headphones. For the life of me, I cannot change the default sound device to this headset. It detects correctly (shows up in "Volume Control") and I can output to the device via VLC (requires changing the settings in that application). However, I would like to change this device to default audio output device globally. I am using MATE desktop with Compiz Window Manager (Desktop Cube! :D ). I apologize if I am missing something obvious, but I have searched to no avail for quite some time. Thanks for your help!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
cmost
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Change default audio output device

Post by cmost »

I'm no PulseAudio expert, but have you tried controlling PulseAudio through the command line using pacmd and pactl commands?
For options see man pages (pacmd: http://linux.die.net/man/1/pacmd, pactl: http://linux.die.net/man/1/pactl
or the wiki at PulseAudio: http://mpd.wikia.com/wiki/PulseAudio

Here are some basic commands to get you started. Once you figure out what you need, then perhaps a simple shell script that runs on log-in will set your preferences automatically.

Code: Select all

pacmd list-sinks to list name or index number of possible sinks

pacmd set-default-sink "SINKNAME" to set the default output sink

pacmd set-default-source "SOURCENAME" to set the default input

pacmd set-sink-volume index volume