[Solved]Not the brightest button in the box - lost icons in

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[Solved]Not the brightest button in the box - lost icons in

Postby xircon on Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:19 am

Okay, I am stupid, I work a lot of shifts (I work with people with dementia) and yesterday's late shift was particularly hard, didn't get home until 22:45. I was trying out new icon themes in the early hours after getting home. I managed to delete /usr/share/icons whilst trying to delete an icon theme I did not like by placing an errant space in the path :oops: .

I have re-installed everything in synaptic that contains "icon", but I am missing the icons in the two columns of the right hand pane of synaptic, which makes it hard to use!

I have rebuilt the icon cache for all themes (but haven't rebooted yet).

Help!!

Steve
Last edited by xircon on Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Not the brightest button in the box - lost icons in syna

Postby xircon on Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:36 am

Grrrr, I am going to have to re-install lots of programs who's icons have gone missing :( Re-installing synaptic and log out/in worked, so marking this solved.

Moral of the story, don't use the command line when exhausted!

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests