Can I Move To Wheezy and Keep the Font Goodness??

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Can I Move To Wheezy and Keep the Font Goodness??

Postby joncr on Wed May 15, 2013 1:54 pm

Because I haven't figured out how to get Mint/Ubuntu font rendering quality in a stock Debian installation, I thought I would be clever by installing LMDE and immediately moving to Wheezy. And, sure enough, the standard Mint font rendering vanished.

Here's what I did: Installed LMDE; updated LMDE; edited sources.list to comment out all Mint repos and add Debian repos; apt-get update, apt-get upgrade, apt-get dist-upgrade, reboot. Worked just fine. Except for that font rendering thing.

How can I do this *and* maintain LMDE's font rendering? Do I need to blacklist certain packages?

(Meanwhile, if anyone can point me to guidance on getting Mint/Ubuntu font rendering in Debian, I'd smile at ya. The Debian community doesn't seem fond of the question.)
joncr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 1:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can I Move To Wheezy and Keep the Font Goodness??

Postby GeneBenson on Wed May 15, 2013 4:46 pm

Hi joncr,

If it's not to late just copy the entire folder "/etc/fonts" from Ubuntu/Mint to LMDE then logout and back in. Works for me. Just rename fonts to fonts-old or something first in case it all goes wrong.

If it is to late, perhaps from the Ubuntu/Mint live environment. Never tried that though.
GeneBenson
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: Can I Move To Wheezy and Keep the Font Goodness??

Postby Monsta on Thu May 16, 2013 4:07 am

Back when LMDE switched to using the upstream fontconfig/libcairo, we had a little discussion in this thread. Maybe it'll help you somehow.
Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2513
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests