System Monitor info about CPU activity incorrect ? [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules

System Monitor info about CPU activity incorrect ? [SOLVED]

Postby ron_h on Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:16 am

I just installed LMDE 201403 Cinnamon oln an Acer netbook which has an Atom Duo Core CPU - which System Info says is an Intel Atom CPU N570 1.66 Ghz x 2

However when I run System Monitor, in CPU History it gives % busy for CPU 1, CPU 2, CPU 3, and CPU 4. And if I watch it for a while, % varies for each of the CPUs.

My question is, what is System Monitor actually measuring ? At the moment, I must say it just makes me distrust anything that System Monitor displays :-)

Ron
Last edited by ron_h on Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: System Monitor info about CPU activity incorrect ?

Postby eanfrid on Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:31 am

Hello,

Dual-core with 2 threads per core = 4 virtual CPUs :)
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie 64bit - MATE
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
Safer than Dropbox
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1870
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: FR

Re: System Monitor info about CPU activity incorrect ?

Postby ron_h on Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:25 pm

Many thanks. I didn't know that :-)

Ron
ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests