How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer [SOLVED]

Postby ron_h on Tue May 06, 2014 7:54 pm

LMDE 201403 Cinnamon 64 bit

To configure the menu, I right mouse button on the menu icon. That pops up a box with 'configure menu' but it only stays for a very short time before the menu itself is displayed. I usually don't manage to get the mouse there in time to select it so I have to RMB again. And again. Is there any way to make the popup box stay around for a bit longer ? Or what am I doing wrong to make the menu replace the popup box so quickly?

Ron
Last edited by ron_h on Thu May 08, 2014 5:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
ron_h
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer

Postby Kalyk on Wed May 07, 2014 2:34 am

I tried it right now on the same version.
No disappearing of the menu for me, it just stays.
Can it be a graphics card problem or something you changed yourself?
Add (Solved) to the topic-title of the first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.
User avatar
Kalyk
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer

Postby ron_h on Wed May 07, 2014 3:28 am

If I leave the cursor on the menu icon, the options of "configure' and 'delete this applet' stay there just fine. As soon as I move the cursor to select 'configure', all too often, the complete menu gets displayed and therefore the 'configure' option I want is no longer displayed.

What I have now tried is changing the 'hover delay' on the Applets/Menu screen to 250 milliseconds (default was zero) and that appears to be a bit better. Not sure I can say SOLVED yet, though.

Ron
ron_h
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Re: How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer

Postby Kalyk on Wed May 07, 2014 4:07 am

In the config menu I see the option:
"open the menu when I move my mouse over it"
Is that selected in your config?
Add (Solved) to the topic-title of the first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.
User avatar
Kalyk
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer

Postby ron_h on Wed May 07, 2014 5:19 am

Yes, I have checked that option. It seems that it can sort of override RMB so as to make selecting 'configure' more difficult.

Ron
ron_h
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Re: How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer

Postby Kalyk on Wed May 07, 2014 5:56 am

It doesn't override the right mouse button, but does have that effect.
Because when you're on the menu sign you want to do a right mouse click while this config-option makes the system do an automatic left mouse or similar.
So just disable that option and the problem should be gone.
Add (Solved) to the topic-title of the first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.
User avatar
Kalyk
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to make 'Configure menu' stay for longer

Postby ron_h on Thu May 08, 2014 5:21 am

OK, thanks. So the RMB configure option is more-or-less incompatible with the open the menu when I mouse over it option. Pity. I'll stop using the mouse over option.

Ron
ron_h
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests