How do I stop PC booting the wrong partition ?[SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: How do I stop PC booting the wrong partition ?

Postby ron_h on Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:06 pm

OK. I'm currently booted from LMDETEST on sda8 and I'm not happy with the results of mkconfig.

The first couple of menuentries look OK to me if the fact that I booted from sda8 means that sda8 now gets 'pole position' (sounds logical to me)

Code: Select all
menuentry 'LMDE Cinnamon 64-bit, 3.11-2-amd64 (/dev/sda8)' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   load_video
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd0,msdos8)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 015fac40-f127-11e3-ad5a-2b2b889acdff
   echo   'Loading Linux 3.11-2-amd64 ...'
   linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.11-2-amd64 root=UUID=015fac40-f127-11e3-ad5a-2b2b889acdff ro  quiet splash
   echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
   initrd   /boot/initrd.img-3.11-2-amd64
}
menuentry 'LMDE Cinnamon 64-bit, 3.11-2-amd64 (/dev/sda8) -- (recovery mode)' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   load_video
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd0,msdos8)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 015fac40-f127-11e3-ad5a-2b2b889acdff
   echo   'Loading Linux 3.11-2-amd64 ...'
   linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.11-2-amd64 root=UUID=015fac40-f127-11e3-ad5a-2b2b889acdff ro single
   echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
   initrd   /boot/initrd.img-3.11-2-amd64

}

The Win 7 menuentries look OK and (touch wood) there's not been any problem booting Win 7 (not that I want to, if I can avoid it, the netbook is so slow :-)

Then come the sda6 entries and they look OK to me as well

Code: Select all
Found LMDE Cinnamon Edition (1) on /dev/sda6
menuentry "LMDE Cinnamon 64-bit, 3.11-2-amd64 (/dev/sda6) (on /dev/sda6)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd0,msdos6)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root c456e7bd-e79e-496c-93a1-5c522359fdaa
   linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.11-2-amd64 root=UUID=c456e7bd-e79e-496c-93a1-5c522359fdaa ro quiet splash
   initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.11-2-amd64
}
menuentry "LMDE Cinnamon 64-bit, 3.11-2-amd64 (/dev/sda6) -- (recovery mode) (on /dev/sda6)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd0,msdos6)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root c456e7bd-e79e-496c-93a1-5c522359fdaa
   linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.11-2-amd64 root=UUID=c456e7bd-e79e-496c-93a1-5c522359fdaa ro single
   initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.11-2-amd64
}


But then there's another menuentry, just one, not 'main' and 'recovery', which I don't like the look of it at all as it contains both of the UUIDs

Code: Select all
menuentry "LMDETEST Cinnamon 64-bit, 3.11-2-amd64 on /dev/sda8) (on /dev/sda6)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(hd0,msdos6)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root c456e7bd-e79e-496c-93a1-5c522359fdaa
   linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.11-2-amd64 root=UUID=015fac40-f127-11e3-ad5a-2b2b889acdff ro quiet splash
   initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.11-2-amd64
}


I don't know how to interpret this, but it doesn't look good to me. I suspect this menuentry would boot sda6 based on past results.

I will restart with the sda6 system and see if I get the same result there. Real Soon Now.

I was just having fun using the LMDETEST system to -er- do some testing :-) and I will finish before I restart.

Ron
ron_h
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do I stop PC booting the wrong partition ?

Postby Spearmint2 on Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:23 pm

changing UUID's. If you boot a LIVE DVD and then go to the drive with the partitions, unmount any that may have mounted (none should have), open GParted, then right clk, you can choose to get a new UUID for that partition.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....
User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: How do I stop PC booting the wrong partition ?

Postby ron_h on Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:48 pm

Thank you. I didn't know I could get a new UUID that way. Does it make sure the new UUID is reflected in every place that a UUID is actually stored ? From the experiences so far, UUIDs are not just in one place, nor does everything that needs the UUID look in the same place.

Ron
ron_h
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Re: How do I stop PC booting the wrong partition ?

Postby Spearmint2 on Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:00 pm

Does it make sure the new UUID is reflected in every place that a UUID is actually stored ?


I do not know, but don't think so. It seems though if you'd just gotten a new UUID and then run update-grub before doing all the other stuff, you'd have it solved by now. One reason people use a boot partition is to avoid these needed cross boot situations.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....
User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: How do I stop PC booting the wrong partition ?

Postby ron_h on Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:05 am

I've restarted booting from LMDE partition, and while the results are not the same as on LMDETEST, they are not right, either.

I'll keep things as they are for a while longer then I'll start again, different approach, to get both a current and a test partition on this hard drive, able to boot either.

I'll post this thread as SOLVED, because the original problem is solved, but I don't like all aspects of the solution.

Ron
ron_h
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Previous

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests