Mint lmde cinnamon and debian Jessie repositories

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
pieri70

Mint lmde cinnamon and debian Jessie repositories

Post by pieri70 »

Hello all I'm new to mint I was using Ubuntu for many years before (not really a super skilled user.)
I installed mint lmde cinnamon 201403 on my laptop and it all works great.
Then I wanted to install a full Gis environment with qgis testing repository for debian testing.
Apt tells me there are missing dependencies so I added debian testing official repositories to my sources . list.
Apt now tells me there are more than 1000 packages to be upgraded, is it possible to upgrade by debian Jessie repositories?
Excuse me if this is the 10.000th time this question is made
bye
pietro
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Mint lmde cinnamon and debian Jessie repositories

Post by xenopeek »

Well, you should make a choice. Do you want to:
- Use LMDE?
- Use Debian testing?

You can't do both as you are now doing; that will break stuff. The way you have set this up (not set apt priority for Debian testing lower) will basically convert your system to Debian testing--while keeping bits of LMDE around. This will eventually break your installation.
pieri70

Post by pieri70 »

Thanks xenopeek
that was my impression, so I didn't upgrade anything...
I thought that LMDE was fully based on debian testing, and I didn't think there were many differencies..
I need packages that are in jessie, so I think I'll go for it.
It's a pity because I really liked the UI of mint LMDE.

Bye
Pietro
Monsta
Level 10
Level 10

Post by Monsta »

pieri70 wrote:Apt tells me there are missing dependencies so I added debian testing official repositories to my sources . list.