Save file from browser doesn't show Network in Places/SOLVED

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules

Save file from browser doesn't show Network in Places/SOLVED

Postby thelma on Fri Jun 27, 2014 6:10 pm

Hello,
I can share folders with Win7 machine through samba; reading and writing features are running smooth from both boxes.
Caja 1.6.2 shows "Browse Network" and with a click there Linux Mint and Win7 folders are displayed. So far so good.
My problem is when I want to save a file from Gmail directly to my Win7, "Save file" box does not show Network under Places.
What should I do? I read an article here about mapping the Win drive, /run/user/gvfs, mounting.
Is this what I should do?

Thank you.
Thelma
Last edited by thelma on Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:11 pm, edited 3 times in total.
thelma
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:59 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Network is not under Places when saving files - LMDE

Postby altair4 on Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:38 am

There is no "Browse Network" in the "Save File" utility so it's a two step process:

[1] Connect to the remote share through Caja.
[2] Then access the mount point ( /run/user/1000/gvfs/something ).

*** You can automate the samba share connection a number of ways but if you are otherwise happy with the way the caja method works I would suggest Gigolo.

*** As for the mount point you should be able to within the "Save File" dialog go to: File System > run > user > $UID > and drag the gvfs box to the left side panel which makes a link to all gvfs remote share mount points.

Note: $UID is whatever your own uid number is. For most folks that's 1000.

There is another way that admittedly is a little more involved that will auto mount the share and put the mount point anywhere you want: AutoFS
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7445
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Save file from browser doesn't show Network under Places

Postby thelma on Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:10 pm

Hi Altair,
Thank you for your professional way you answer questions and solve problems in this forum. I used Gigolo per your instructions and was able to mount the main folder in Win7, so now I can save the files directly on that machine.

Cheers from Brazil,
Thelma
thelma
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:59 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests