Software Manager

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Software Manager

Postby spoortin_4 on Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:19 pm

When i open software manager it opens just fine and searches just fine but once i try to open the software window that i want it wont open so that i can install it and that goes for any software. I can't for the life of me figure this out. so my question is, What could be the problem? This is odd to me cause i do not have any issue with this on my laptop that is multi-booted with windows 7
spoortin_4
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 1:22 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Software Manager

Postby Reorx on Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:30 pm

Are you doing this as a "regular" user or an administrator? also >>> what version and which DE?
Procrastinate now!
User avatar
Reorx
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: Software Manager

Postby spoortin_4 on Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:40 pm

i am using LMDE 201303 and i am doing this as administator
spoortin_4
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 1:22 am

Re: Software Manager

Postby Reorx on Sun Jun 29, 2014 11:13 pm

On LM17C64 you have to do it as an administrator (software manager won't open for a regular user)... when you find your software you have to double click your selection to get it to open... have you double clicked it? If so, I'm out of ideas (I don't run LMDE)...
Last edited by Reorx on Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Procrastinate now!
User avatar
Reorx
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: Software Manager

Postby spoortin_4 on Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:51 am

yes i have double clicked and ty for trying im sure somebody will see the post that dose run LMDE :D
spoortin_4
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 1:22 am

Re: Software Manager

Postby Crewp on Mon Jun 30, 2014 6:54 am

This is a bug, it has been reported , and hopefully will be fixed with UP9 coming out soon.
Image
User avatar
Crewp
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 853
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Connecticut

Re: Software Manager

Postby Monsta on Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:37 am

spoortin_4 wrote:When i open software manager it opens just fine and searches just fine but once i try to open the software window that i want it wont open so that i can install it and that goes for any software.

Try running it from the terminal:
Code: Select all
mintinstall
and post the output here (don't forget to use the "code" tag).
Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2514
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests