No Transparency Option in Profile Preferences

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
vvarlock

No Transparency Option in Profile Preferences

Post by vvarlock »

Hello,

I'm new to linux mint debian edition, but not to debian. After installing the OS I noticed that I couldn't set the transparency option for the terminal. The tab that usually gives you the option simply wasn't there. I figured it was because it wasn't supported without my graphics drivers installed but the option still isn't there. Is there a supported feature in LMDE?

Info
CPU: Intel Core i7
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670m

Let me know if any other info is needed. Thank you.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Monsta
Level 10
Level 10

Re: No Transparency Option in Profile Preferences

Post by Monsta »

Oh, you have Cinnamon, I presume? Gnome developers removed this feature from gnome-terminal in version 3.8 IIRC.
rck2
Level 1
Level 1

Post by rck2 »

No joke, have you found a work around to this issue?
Monsta
Level 10
Level 10

Post by Monsta »

How do you work around a removed feature? No way. You can only install the earlier version from snapshot.debian.org - and that's only if there won't be any problem with the dependencies.
vvarlock

Post by vvarlock »

Yes, I'm using cinnamon.

If it's a feature that's no longer supported, can I get the effect another way?
vvarlock

Post by vvarlock »

This isn't really a solution, but I decided to switch from cinnamon to MATE. So far I like it a lot. It seems less buggy and I get my transparent terminals back.

I do a lot of programming and am usually toggling between the terminal and an IDE or browser. This workflow has become very useful for me. Even when I'm forced to work in a Windows environment I'll use cygwin with mintty to get the same effect.

MATE FTW
killer de bug

Post by killer de bug »