Change to KDE system default DE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Change to KDE system default DE

Postby jmm on Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:45 pm

I have been with LMDE a week now and I am thrilled with this. This rolling release distro has met my OS needs and I am thoroughly enjoying it. Great to be back with Mint again.

Congrats to Clem and his team.

Quick question...

Bigger fan of KDE than Gnome. Installed KDE-Full. System Default option still defaults to Gnome even though I chose KDM as default during setup.

Does anybody know how I can change system default to KDE?

Thanks.
jmm
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:30 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby seeley on Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:57 pm

Hi jmm!
What I don't understand:
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1527:
* Linux Mint Debian Edition (LMDE) is a rolling distribution based on Debian Testing.
* At the moment, it comes as a 32-bit live DVD with a Gnome desktop...

seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1523
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby jmm on Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:40 pm

Yes....I know LMDE's release is just a Gnome release so far.

I added KDE-full and choose which DE I want at Login,

Right now it is defaulting to Gnome. I want it to default to KDE. I am not trying to delete KDE, I just don't want it to be my default desktop environment.

Thanks.
jmm
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:30 am

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby jmm on Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:43 pm

ERROR....don't want Gnome to be my default......Not trying to delete it but I don't want to default to it.
jmm
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:30 am

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby seeley on Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:26 am

Hi jmm!
Because I had some troubles with LMDE I now have Julia and can't give a direct help; when there is a new kernel for LMDE I will try it again.
I would
bump
your next post.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1523
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby tdockery97 on Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:00 pm

Checking the Debian forums gave this solution: Run the following in terminal:
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm

It should then give you the choice whether to run GDM or KDM. If your preference is to make KDE your default desktop, then if you select KDE in "sessions" at the KDM login-in screen it should give you the option to make it default.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby joutlan on Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:42 am

jmm wrote:ERROR....don't want Gnome to be my default......Not trying to delete it but I don't want to default to it.


I'm wanting to do the same thing, except remove most of the gnome libraries...have you run across how to do that? i.e. the single command such as 'gnome-desktop' or whatever? thanks
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby tdockery97 on Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:49 am

Well, not knowing how far you want to go in removing items, it's hard to say. The only way to pick and choose is to use the Synaptic Package Manager, search for "gnome" and read through all the items and decide which you wish to remove.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Change to KDE system default DE

Postby joutlan on Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:19 am

tdockery97 wrote:Well, not knowing how far you want to go in removing items, it's hard to say. The only way to pick and choose is to use the Synaptic Package Manager, search for "gnome" and read through all the items and decide which you wish to remove.


thanks...just basically the default gnome libraries and gdm.....I'm at the beginning of a fresh install, so if I can't do it in such a way that pleases me :), I'll stick to gnome....I have much experience with both, so..... :roll:
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests