Maverick to LMDE?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Maverick to LMDE?

Postby M3nt0r3 on Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:19 am

there is a way to port from maverick to LMDE?
I am no scared about some problem but i need to not format / and reinstall.
thanks
M3nt0r3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Maverick to LMDE?

Postby proxima_centauri on Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:35 am

You mean upgrade from Ubuntu 10.10 to Linux Mint Debian edition? No, this is not possible; you need to perform a fresh install.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Maverick to LMDE?

Postby vrkalak on Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:06 pm

While Ubuntu/Mint is based on Debian .. . they are not interchangeable nor compatible.

Ubuntu has made too many changes to the Debian base in their quest to make the distro more 'user-friendly.
As well as, adding and changing config files, ppa's and repros that are not compatible with Debians base or philosophy.

Only the core Linux Kernel is the same in both distros.
Image
:: Mint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Debian-Sid (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3475
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Maverick to LMDE?

Postby drdavidk on Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:44 pm

If you're using the same desktop in both distros (ie, Gnome), then many of your home folder files will be compatible, especially data files and settings such as for Evolution, OpenOffice, browsers, etc. Copy your home folder (including hidden files and sub-folders) to a thumb drive and do a fresh install. It's worth it.
drdavidk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:25 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests