[solved] Is LMDE trying to access floppy at boot?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[solved] Is LMDE trying to access floppy at boot?

Postby Ahmad on Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:14 am

Hi, I have noticed that during boot of my pc the computer is hanging down a bit during the "Loading" note. After that it gives I/O error for fd0 and then continues to boot normally. To my understanding this is the floppy drive which I have none on my pc, so my question is if there is a way to stop the system checking for floppy at boot? There is nothing in fstab related to fd0 and I am running LMDE 64-bit.
Help very appreciated , thanks.
Last edited by Ahmad on Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ahmad
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:25 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Is LMDE trying to access floppy at boot?

Postby Murdock on Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:36 am

While booting, hit delete several times. This will take you into the BIOS.
Go into "boot sequence" and disable the floppy.
Many motherboards are a bit different in the way the BIOS works but once you see it, it's very straight forward.
Pura Vida.
Arenal Botanical Garden
Lake Arenal, Costa Rica
User avatar
Murdock
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:23 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Is LMDE trying to access floppy at boot?

Postby Ahmad on Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:51 am

I have disabled the floppy drive in the bios and the problem is sloved. Thank you.
Ahmad
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:25 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests