how come lmde doesn't have latest software

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

how come lmde doesn't have latest software

Postby red123 on Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:22 am

Since LMDE is a rolling release distro, shouldn't it have the latest version of all of the software it its repository? For example, the gnome-terminal used in LMDE is version 2.30.2 whereas the gnome-terminal in LM10 is 2.32. Unless the rolling nature of the distro only apply to the internals of the OS such as the kernels, etc.
red123
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: how come lmde doesn't have latest software

Postby JasonLG on Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:35 am

red123 wrote:Since LMDE is a rolling release distro, shouldn't it have the latest version of all of the software it its repository? For example, the gnome-terminal used in LMDE is version 2.30.2 whereas the gnome-terminal in LM10 is 2.32. Unless the rolling nature of the distro only apply to the internals of the OS such as the kernels, etc.


Debian testing(LMDE is based on testing) was frozen on August 6th because Debian Squeeze is about to be released. After Squeeze is released the packages will start to catch up again. If you want a more cutting edge LMDE then you can always change your repos to Sid. But be warned there is a chance of breaking your system as Sid is the unstable branch.

Conversely you can also change your repos to Squeeze if you want a more stable system.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.
JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA

Re: how come lmde doesn't have latest software

Postby red123 on Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:39 am

That makes a lot of sense
red123
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:46 am

Re: how come lmde doesn't have latest software

Postby sgosnell on Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:22 pm

If you want the absolute latest software, enable the experimental repositories. Debian is very conservative, and even Debian Testing may be behind the latest Ubuntu version. Debian Testing is, IME, more stable than the latest Ubuntu release in almost every area, and I find Ubuntu to be rather buggy for at least 6 months after a release.
Asus eee-pc 900 w/ 32GB SSD.
sgosnell
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:32 pm
Location: Baja Oklahoma


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests