Time doesn't stay

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Time doesn't stay

Postby chdslv on Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:31 am

I am trying LMDE, though I still like Linux Mint.
It is working well. Sound is there. NVidia driver is installed. Compiz is working.
One small hitch, not a problem as such, but it is there...the time goes back, every time I come back to LMDE. It adds up 5.5 hours. Well, I deduct the 5.5 hours whenever I remember about the time, but someone might feel it annoying, if it is persistent in other laptops. So, I am reporting it.

The laptop is Acer Aspire 4741G, Intel i3-330M, NVidia Geforce 310M

Take care! :D
chdslv
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 3:49 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Time doesn't stay

Postby wayne128 on Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:37 am

wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Time doesn't stay

Postby twa on Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:03 am

hi,
from synaptic install the package : ntp
then setup accordingly
cheers
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: Time doesn't stay

Postby chdslv on Thu Jan 06, 2011 6:25 am

Thanks Wayne & Twa!

It worked! :D

I believe, that the LMDE when installing didn't put the 'no' for UTC, even though it asked about the time zone.

Take care!
chdslv
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 3:49 am

Re: Time doesn't stay

Postby rivenathos on Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:26 am

Sometimes it might be easier to set your hardware clock for UTC. Adding "ntp" is one of the first things I do on an install anyway, so all is good.
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests