LMDE 64 freezes

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rdonnelly on Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:30 pm

I went to the Mint menu in the lower left corner, tried to enter the search term "provider" it got as far as "provi" then the machine froze up. I had to do a hard reboot, tried it again and it froze up to the point of another hard reboot. Is this a bug?
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby joutlan on Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:28 pm

I don't know about a bug, but I had to remove mint menu and go back to standard gnome menu because it was always one my top CPU processes (Python).
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rivenathos on Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:43 pm

rdonnelly,

What kind of updating method are you using? Just Levels 1-3, or all levels 1-5? There are bug fixes in Level 3, as well as some bigger fixes in the 4 & 5. Overall, LMDE is almost rock solid right now.
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby wayne128 on Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:50 pm

This looked like a bug.
first reported in below link, when typing rar, CPU went 100%, froze.

work around without reboot: hit ctrl-alt-backspace and re login.

viewtopic.php?f=165&t=61489
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3279
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rdonnelly on Tue Jan 11, 2011 7:26 am

rivenathos wrote:rdonnelly,

What kind of updating method are you using? Just Levels 1-3, or all levels 1-5? There are bug fixes in Level 3, as well as some bigger fixes in the 4 & 5. Overall, LMDE is almost rock solid right now.


So, do you think I should take all updates right up to level 5?
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rivenathos on Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:39 am

Only you can make that decision. However, my LMDE installs, both 32-bit and 64-bit, are fully updated with all Level 1-5 updates. I take them all. The only thing you may wish to do is choose "keep original package" if asked since Mint uses a couple of things Debian wants to "fix."

Will I do this on LMDE once Squeeze goes stable and Wheezy becomes the new Testing. No, not at first. I am probably not going to update anything until the repositories settle down with the influx of all the new packages. LMDE is a whole new ballgame.
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rivenathos on Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:55 am

I need to add this in just for reference. In an update performed today, I got this message pop up:
Migrate legacy boot sequencing to dependency-based sequencing?

There was an X in the box, so I went with it. Nothing exploded, so it works for me. :wink:
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rdonnelly on Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:53 pm

rivenathos wrote:I need to add this in just for reference. In an update performed today, I got this message pop up:
Migrate legacy boot sequencing to dependency-based sequencing?

There was an X in the box, so I went with it. Nothing exploded, so it works for me. :wink:


x2 I got that update as well, and went with it. :mrgreen:
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby joutlan on Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:26 pm

I always do an "apt-get dist-upgrade" Seems rock solid. I guess I should say also I use the Liquorix Kernel, and ZERO Ubuntu packages :)
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby bobcollard on Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:10 pm

I use Aptitude update and dist-upgrades whenever I see the check mark turn in the update icon or once a day, whichever comes first. Then I read what it says before agreeing to allow it. It's taken me a year, but, hard lessons make you stronger.
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64
User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests