LMDE 64 freezes

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules

LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rdonnelly on Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:30 pm

I went to the Mint menu in the lower left corner, tried to enter the search term "provider" it got as far as "provi" then the machine froze up. I had to do a hard reboot, tried it again and it froze up to the point of another hard reboot. Is this a bug?
The OS: Linux Mint 17.3 KDE
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby joutlan on Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:28 pm

I don't know about a bug, but I had to remove mint menu and go back to standard gnome menu because it was always one my top CPU processes (Python).
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rivenathos on Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:43 pm

rdonnelly,

What kind of updating method are you using? Just Levels 1-3, or all levels 1-5? There are bug fixes in Level 3, as well as some bigger fixes in the 4 & 5. Overall, LMDE is almost rock solid right now.
Currently running in the computer lab:
Linux Mint 17.2 Cinnamon
CentOS 7 GNOME
Debian 8 LXDE
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby wayne128 on Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:50 pm

This looked like a bug.
first reported in below link, when typing rar, CPU went 100%, froze.

work around without reboot: hit ctrl-alt-backspace and re login.

viewtopic.php?f=165&t=61489
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3428
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rdonnelly on Tue Jan 11, 2011 7:26 am

rivenathos wrote:rdonnelly,

What kind of updating method are you using? Just Levels 1-3, or all levels 1-5? There are bug fixes in Level 3, as well as some bigger fixes in the 4 & 5. Overall, LMDE is almost rock solid right now.


So, do you think I should take all updates right up to level 5?
The OS: Linux Mint 17.3 KDE
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rivenathos on Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:39 am

Only you can make that decision. However, my LMDE installs, both 32-bit and 64-bit, are fully updated with all Level 1-5 updates. I take them all. The only thing you may wish to do is choose "keep original package" if asked since Mint uses a couple of things Debian wants to "fix."

Will I do this on LMDE once Squeeze goes stable and Wheezy becomes the new Testing. No, not at first. I am probably not going to update anything until the repositories settle down with the influx of all the new packages. LMDE is a whole new ballgame.
Currently running in the computer lab:
Linux Mint 17.2 Cinnamon
CentOS 7 GNOME
Debian 8 LXDE
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rivenathos on Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:55 am

I need to add this in just for reference. In an update performed today, I got this message pop up:
Migrate legacy boot sequencing to dependency-based sequencing?

There was an X in the box, so I went with it. Nothing exploded, so it works for me. :wink:
Currently running in the computer lab:
Linux Mint 17.2 Cinnamon
CentOS 7 GNOME
Debian 8 LXDE
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby rdonnelly on Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:53 pm

rivenathos wrote:I need to add this in just for reference. In an update performed today, I got this message pop up:
Migrate legacy boot sequencing to dependency-based sequencing?

There was an X in the box, so I went with it. Nothing exploded, so it works for me. :wink:


x2 I got that update as well, and went with it. :mrgreen:
The OS: Linux Mint 17.3 KDE
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby joutlan on Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:26 pm

I always do an "apt-get dist-upgrade" Seems rock solid. I guess I should say also I use the Liquorix Kernel, and ZERO Ubuntu packages :)
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro
User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: LMDE 64 freezes

Postby bobcollard on Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:10 pm

I use Aptitude update and dist-upgrades whenever I see the check mark turn in the update icon or once a day, whichever comes first. Then I read what it says before agreeing to allow it. It's taken me a year, but, hard lessons make you stronger.
Robert Collard, Springfield, IL
Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16 Ghz. 4GB RAM
Linux Mint Debian Edition, Xfce 4.6.2 Desktop, 2.6.37-0.dmz.6-liquorix-amd64
User avatar
bobcollard
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Springfield, IL

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests