How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

Postby macias on Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:31 pm

Debian Squeeze RC2.

I installed Debian (because LMDE installer lacks support for LVM/dmcrypt) with hope, that after successful installation it would be possible to switch repos and convert Debian into full LMDE. Since such conversion was described:
http://www.khattam.info/howto-change-de ... qus_thread

it seemed doable.

However, after adding LM repos (as described) I got error from apt-get, that LM repos do not have a signature. And that's all, apt-get refused to do any work.

So -- is the conversion possible, and if yes, how to do it?
Last edited by macias on Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
macias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Postby jam666 on Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:04 pm

Acer Aspire 4810TZG running LMDE 64bit
Asus P5G41C-M LX, Intel Dual-Core E5300, 2gb DDR3 running Debian Squeeze 6.0 64bit
jam666
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 6:31 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Postby macias on Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:30 pm

Thank you very much!!! ;-) The howto you linked contains one crucial piece -- downloading the keys for each repo. I downloaded the keys, apt-get asked me if it is OK to download UNSIGNED packages, I agreed, and after that apt-get worked without any complains about missing signatures.

So, I have LMDE (I think at least I have it) now. I restarted computer, and it worked.

Small issues, though -- originally /etc/apt/sources.list contained entry for deb-src, in both howtos this line is omitted. How can I put it back in correct form (I would like to use testing repo, not stable).

The other things are strictly superficial -- I think I can handle them. But the one above -- adding source packages to repo list -- I would like to solve this, because the entry was there originally (from Debian install).

Thank you in advance.
macias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Postby debian_bugsbunny on Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:33 pm

For source files simply duplicate the lines in sources.list that start with deb and replace the deb at the beginning with deb-src. So, if sources.list currently looks like:
Code: Select all
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ testing main non-free
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import

then simply add the following lines:
Code: Select all
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ testing main non-free
deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
Image Debian testing+sid/experimental on Dell Inspiron 9300
User avatar
debian_bugsbunny
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:56 am

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE?

Postby macias on Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:23 am

Thank you!
macias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

Postby macias on Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:34 pm

Hmm, you mean that verbatim quote of pinning in the articles mentioned at start of this thread are not good enough?
macias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: How to convert Debian to LMDE? [SOLVED]

Postby fearedbliss on Sun Mar 06, 2011 3:59 pm

I wrote a tutorial on installing Linux Mint with LVM

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=67698&p=391323&hilit=LVM#p391323
Get paid to shop at Market America !
fearedbliss
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 4:40 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests