Are repos for LMDE and LM mixed together? [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Are repos for LMDE and LM mixed together? [SOLVED]

Postby macias on Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:49 pm

Today I ran into a problem -- I wanted to install libgtk devel version, which required libcairo (dev) which required libfontconfig (devel) which required libfontconfig (bin) -- and this last one couldn't be resolved.

I saw it on the list, so why the problem? It appears, that there were 2 sources of this packages -- one from Debian repo (this one was correct, i.e. there was devel and binary package) and one from LM (incorrect, the binary counterpart was missing).

But what else I found -- the version from LM repository was with suffix "ubuntu", and since every letter is "greater" than digit, Synaptic assumed it was the latest version of the package.

Anyway -- maybe I am mistaken, but Ubuntu packages can cause problems in Debian (at least that is what I heard). So -- since LM is based on Ubuntu, and LMDE on Debian -- are repos (packages to be strict) for LM and LMDE mixed together?

Thank you in advance.
Last edited by macias on Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
macias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Are repos for LMDE and LM mixed together?

Postby cwsnyder on Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:15 pm

Before you tried installing the GTK package, did you install build-essential for LMDE?
Code: Select all
apt-get install build-essential
as root? This package is normally required for any development and also normally keeps the type library conflicts to a minimum.

Yes, LMDE points to some Mint libraries as a part of the user interface. The Mint menu, updater and other packages are the same for both Mint based distros. Ubuntu and Debian can use many of the same application .deb packages, but some will clobber each other, especially packages which change the user interface. In the same way, GTK packages can be used for the LXDE and Enlightenment desktops, but can conflict and change operation, depending on which packages are chosen.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM17 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 14.10 64-bit, Xubuntu 14.04 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: Are repos for LMDE and LM mixed together?

Postby richyrich on Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:40 pm

User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Pirating somewhere along the North Saskatchewan River, Canada

Re: Are repos for LMDE and LM mixed together?

Postby macias on Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:07 am

Thank you guys for the links and explanation.

No, I didn't install that package. I can understand the need of installing it, but for me (technical POV) it is bad design -- you have to know in advance which package to install to avoid installing the package you are about to install. This is some kind of common wisdom, but it should be put explicitly in the packages, not in user heads. Of course I am not taking about sharing frontends, but libraries which causes conflicts and/or are unable to set their dependencies.

Once again, thank you for sharing the knowledge, you solved my problem.
macias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: Are repos for LMDE and LM mixed together? [SOLVED]

Postby richyrich on Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:44 pm

Hmmm, for you to get the ubuntu flavor . . do you by chance have a Mint Julia repository activated in your sources list ?
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Pirating somewhere along the North Saskatchewan River, Canada

Re: Are repos for LMDE and LM mixed together? [SOLVED]

Postby macias on Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:12 am

I have such entry

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import


The rest are debian repos (I mean: from debian domain). I added the one above, because I converted Debian RC2 into LMDE, and such entry was shown in both HowTos I've read.
macias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:06 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests