Getting windows to remember their position

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules

Getting windows to remember their position

Postby Quantumboredom on Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:46 pm

Hi.

I have installed LMDE as a guest in VirtualBox to try and use it for everyday tasks. The only problem I've encountered is that some windows don't remember their positions, which is a pretty serious usability problem.

A quick search seems to indicate that this is a feature that's always been missing from GNOME. I did however find the "Place Windows" settings in CompizConfig Settings Manager which seems like it would allow me to do what I need. However none of the settings in CompizConfig Settings Manager seem to be working.

Do all of the settings in CompizConfig require 3D acceleration? I have installed guest additions and enabled 3D acceleration, and my impression is that Compiz Fusion should be able to work. Is there a setting hidden somewhere to enable it? Or any other suggestions on how to do what I want (either set window locations and sizes manually or have windows remember their previous settings)?
Quantumboredom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 9:16 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Getting windows to remember their position

Postby Fornhamfred on Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:31 pm

Assuming you are running 64 bit then this should help.

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=65870&p=380266&hilit=compiz#p380266

Good Luck
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: Getting windows to remember their position

Postby Quantumboredom on Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:41 pm

Indeed I am using 64-bit. Running "compiz --replace" seems to do the trick, thanks for the help :)
Quantumboredom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 9:16 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests