LMDE System Monitor shows no "File Systems"

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

LMDE System Monitor shows no "File Systems"

Postby kmb42vt on Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:43 pm

Here's one for you. I happen to be checking my resources via the "System Monitor" and tried to check disk space under the "File Systems" tab and much to my surprise I didn't have any. No file system (disk, partition, whatever) whatsoever was listed. Rather strange since LMDE has been running fine on a 109 GB partition for the last couple of months. The "System Tab" in "System Monitor" shows "Available disk space: 0 bytes" as well. "Gparted" shows things as they really are (whew!). :D This is the only anomaly with LMDE I've found so far otherwise it runs like a champ.

I included a couple of screenshots. I'm maybe thinking it has to do with my partition set up but LM 10 KDE RC is installed much the same way in another 104 GB partition (sda2 [LM10 KDE] and sda3 [LMDE] are my test partitions, btw) and it has no problem seeing the file system. Anyone else seeing the same thing as I do in "System Monitor"?
Attachments
Gparted.png
sda3 under Gparted
Gparted.png (59.17 KiB) Viewed 543 times
LMDE System Monitor.png
System Monitor/File systems tab
LMDE System Monitor.png (23.49 KiB) Viewed 543 times
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 931
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE System Monitor shows no "File Systems"

Postby Fornhamfred on Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:04 pm

Hi

I think as a first try I would uninstall the system monitor and the re-install. It can be found on software manager, system tools - Gnome system manager.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: LMDE System Monitor shows no "File Systems"

Postby kmb42vt on Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:55 pm

Fornhamfred wrote:Hi

I think as a first try I would uninstall the system monitor and the re-install. It can be found on software manager, system tools - Gnome system manager.


I went ahead and uninstalled and reinstalled "gnome-system-monitor" (no such thing as "Gnome system manager" I'm afraid)--no change. One thing I have noticed is that the "System files" tab will show any partition/drive that's mounted except for the LMDE partition [sda3].

I did some further investigation which led me to check my "etc/fstab" file and it's all messed up which makes absolutely no sense at all. This is a fresh install of the latest LMDE [amd64] respin, all upgrades were accomplished using "sudo apt-get dist-upgrade" as currently recommended and I've kept all the original config files when prompted (tried it the other way and accepted the new config files and LMDE ended half Debian testing and half LMDE). That plus LMDE is running fine except for what I've already mentioned.

Here's the contents of fstab:

Code: Select all
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>

proc   /proc   proc   defaults   0   0
proc   /proc   proc   nodev,noexec,nosuid   0   0
/dev/sda3   /   ext4   rw,errors=remount-ro   0   0
UUID=385ecae6-bd34-41c3-a524-974b8cd6d17f   /   ext3   errors=remount-ro   0   1
UUID=c6876978-438f-4a1e-ae53-dacdf22d1e4a   none   swap   sw   0   0
/dev/scd0   /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660   user,noauto   0   0
/dev/sda5   swap   swap   sw   0   0


The two UUIDs listed do not exist on my hard drive and all partitions are ext4. Nor do I have any removable drives that would have caused those entries. And the file hasn't been modified since the install so I'm rather confused as to what happened. Unfortunately, I'm not versed in changing fstab entries at all so it's going to be hit or miss as to whether I can straighten this out without having to reload. Good thing this is only a test install.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 931
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: LMDE System Monitor shows no "File Systems"

Postby kmb42vt on Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:15 pm

Update:

I deleted the two invalid UUID entries in "etc/fstab" (shown in previous post), rebooted and things appear to be working the way they should be. The partition [sda3] is showing properly under the File systems tab in System monitor now and there's no errors that I can see during boot although there were none previously either. I don't quite understand why the fstab entries in LMDE differ so much from the fstab entries in LM 10 which are entered by UUID's rather than device numbers but perhaps that's just the way Debian does it?
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 931
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests