LMDE 64 Mintupdate icon gone

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

LMDE 64 Mintupdate icon gone

Postby SunWorks on Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:42 pm

Hello,
Just getting LMDE (Linux Mint Debian Edition) 64 up and running, but my kicker icon for mint update is gone.

Followed the suggestions on this forum page: http://forum.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=33610&p=194312 but can only get the icon to come up by manually clicking Alt-F2 and running
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/mintUpdate.py

After rebooting, the icon is not there and the only way I can get it up is the above procedure.

I am running a
  • Dell Inspiron 530 tower
  • quad-core cpu,
  • 6gb RAM,
  • nVidia GeForce GTX 460 video card.
Help is appreciated!
Thank you,
Clinton
User avatar
SunWorks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:30 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE 64 Mintupdate icon gone

Postby anzan on Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:10 pm

Just a guess and it's a GUI-ish thing but start it, click the preferences and change the icon to something else. Even change it back if you want. This might kick something in the nethers.
Thanks to all developers.
User avatar
anzan
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: LMDE 64 Mintupdate icon gone

Postby SunWorks on Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:30 pm

anzan wrote:Just a guess and it's a GUI-ish thing but start it, click the preferences and change the icon to something else. Even change it back if you want. This might kick something in the nethers.


Yeah... I hear you and it's worth a try. What folder are the current ones in?

I started to give this a shot... but then realized I do not know where the originals are stored, so I stopped because I want/need to be able to restore what I've got now.

thank you.
User avatar
SunWorks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:30 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: LMDE 64 Mintupdate icon gone

Postby blacksilva on Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:51 am

SunWorks wrote:
anzan wrote:Just a guess and it's a GUI-ish thing but start it, click the preferences and change the icon to something else. Even change it back if you want. This might kick something in the nethers.


Yeah... I hear you and it's worth a try. What folder are the current ones in?

I started to give this a shot... but then realized I do not know where the originals are stored, so I stopped because I want/need to be able to restore what I've got now.

thank you.



Well I use gnome but maybe the directory's would be the same. The directory for the old icons is...
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/icons/old

Dont know if your still looking for them but if so i hope this helps you.
Image
LMDE 10 running on my Phenom II X4 955 Black @ 3.2GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 460, 2GBs of DDR2, and 250GB HDD.
blacksilva
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:39 pm

Re: LMDE 64 Mintupdate icon gone

Postby SunWorks on Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:04 pm

blacksilva wrote:Well I use gnome but maybe the directory's would be the same. The directory for the old icons is...
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/icons/old

Dont know if your still looking for them but if so i hope this helps you.

Thanks for replying... yes it is still a problem.

I've been manually starting it up when I turn on the computer... it's a pain! The file path you provide at least gives me a good starting point to know what to look for.

Will check it out when I get home. Thanks!
User avatar
SunWorks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:30 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: LMDE 64 Mintupdate icon gone

Postby blacksilva on Wed Mar 30, 2011 6:09 pm

No problem. Hope it helps you out some.

Im having the same problem as you are. luckily mine will sometimes tell me when i have updates. It will flash at the top when it checks for updates and really i just put the update manager application in my docky bar and so now all i need to do is click it and let it check if it does not work.
Image
LMDE 10 running on my Phenom II X4 955 Black @ 3.2GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 460, 2GBs of DDR2, and 250GB HDD.
blacksilva
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:39 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests