[Solved] Changing the Mint Menu shortcut

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[Solved] Changing the Mint Menu shortcut

Postby feffer on Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:59 am

The standard shortcut is "Ctl - Super_L" where Super_L is also known as the windows key or the Meta key. I want to change this to "Alt-Space". Doing right-click enables the Mint Menu prefs, and seems to allow me to change the shortcut key, but this doesn't seem to work even after a log-out, and log back in. Any idea how I can make this change?

thx,
feffer

Edit: Solved -- see post three.
Last edited by feffer on Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
feffer
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:49 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Changing the Mint Menu shortcut

Postby vincent on Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:05 am

Try "<Alt>Space" instead.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Changing the Mint Menu shortcut

Postby feffer on Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:20 pm

Thx Vincent. Actually when I wrote it, I did mean <Alt>Space and that's what I tried unsuccessfully. On previous occasions I've had two issues with setting shortcut keys in Gnome. The first was when I had Compiz running and it superseded whatever I had set in Metacity. This was easy, just set the keybinding in Compiz. The second problem was that some shortcut keys change immediately, but a few are resistant and require a log-out and log back in again. I knew about this, and tried it with MintMenu, but it didn't work. At that point, I posted. I had NOT tried rebooting (as that's rarely needed in linux). Finally I tried that and it worked. I actually used <Alt>space (lowercase), but I don't think that makes a difference. I'm a bit embarrassed. :oops: Maybe MintMenu needs the reboot because something it needs is loading very early in the boot process. I don't know, but reboot did it. Marking the first post Solved.

feffer
feffer
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:49 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests