Some issues with my LMDE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:56 am

Hi I have recently installed LMDE on my laptop. It is great distro. I have been having some problems

1. update manager asks to fix broken packages, but updates fine if run through terminal. This was a solution that I found in the forums.

2. whenever I am working in a terminal, pressing backspace, delete or up and down arrows starts adding funny characters in terminal. One spelling mistake in a command and I have to close the terminal and start over. I have tried roxterm, and other terminals. They all have the same problem in LMDE.

3. My laptop is IBM hinkpad t41. Touchpad is not working correctly. I can drag the cursor, scroll a page ok with touchpad but the tap/click is not working.

4. I have conky setupto run 10 seconds after startup with a script. It starts fine but whenever I click on "show desktop" icon, conky dissappears.
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby amina on Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:45 am

Hi,

1. Regarding broken packages, it has been pointed out in other threads, that MintUpdate is not really designed for LMDE and it is not always working. This may change with time but for now, it is recommended to use either the terminal or synaptic and install all updates, especially if you get errors in MintUpdate.

2. could you please give examples on what funny characters appear in terminal? Are they always the same and specific to the key you press?

3. I also use a touchpad and had to first enable it (in fact, moving, scrolling and right click worked out of the box, only had problem with left click). Have you already tried to go to the mouse settings, touchpad tab and enable it?

4. please take a look at this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=5176454
(I cannot test as I do not use conky)
amina
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:45 am

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby Silent Warrior on Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:09 am

1. Just remember to be responsible about these updates - this is a rolling release, and blind updating can get you in all kinds of unpleasantries if you're not careful. (For example, I was just hit by an update to NetworkManager that killed my wireless. It'll take a while to get back to normal... Just keep an eye on what is updated, that'll make it easier to sort out any problems.)
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:23 pm

Thank you all for your replies and time.

1. I have been using terminal for updates. How do I use the level 1 and 2 updates only with terminal? What I get from your answer is that all updates, level 1 to 5 are done is I do it via terminal or synaptic.

2. The funny characters look like small boxes with little circles in them. I am at work (i know). I will try to send a screen shot of that in the evening.

3. I will try that fix in the evening

4. I will try it in the evening

Again thank you for your time. I will update you on progress.
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby Silent Warrior on Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:40 pm

1. You don't get any levels in the terminal or Synaptic - it's a Mint-specific idea. In other words, it's sort of the other way around (Mint's levels is another filter, like the categories or other filters in Synaptic), but let's not get too confused. It's probably best to use Synaptic, as it provides a transaction history. Then, if something goes belly-up after an update, it'll be easier to look for suspects.

2. Sounds like the encoding is glitchy, then. (Nope, no idea how to fix that, myself - the screenshots will be much appreciated by others looking into this.) What language and keyboard-layout are you using?
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:49 pm

Thanks for reply
US keyboard layout, English language. I hope that was what you were asking.
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby craig10x on Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:19 pm

with LMDE it is advisable to use all 5 levels...this rolling direct debian testing based distro is not the same as the Ubuntu based Main Edition...
If you don't use all 5 you may have problems down the road...

incidentally, other ubuntu based distros including ubuntu itself, does not have selected levels for updating like mint does and in the several years i used ubuntu itself before discovering mint, i never had any real problems with the updates that were sent down...

i use to use mint update on LMDE but now do it all in the terminal, just using update as an "alert" to let me know new package are available...mostly because Mint Update has occasionally been having problems with the updates...
craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:05 am

Thank you for explaining

Touchpad problem fixed after enabling it in preferences.

Conky issue fixed.

terminal issue still not fixed. I have attached a screnshot of the terminal
Attachments
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (10.74 KiB) Viewed 1573 times
Last edited by raforon on Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby amina on Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:06 pm

Unfortunately I have no idea about what is causing this.

Until someone has a solution and to test if it works, you could try to use:

Ctrl + H instead of backspace
Ctrl + P instead of up
Ctrl + N instead of down
Ctrl + B instead of left
Ctrl + F instead of right

and see if it works.
amina
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:45 am

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:16 pm

Thank you

I will try it when i am home.
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby CiaW on Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:53 pm

If your terminal is ROXterm, that's not the GNOME terminal, are you using an LXDE desktop? Or maybe xfce, I forget which uses roxterm.

At any rate, I'd suggest the issue might have to do with installed fonts (or lack thereof). I just did a quick search for roxterm fonts, and it may be you'll want to install some X11 fonts. If you open synaptic and search for fonts you'll get a LOT of choices, but it's pretty likely that's the issue.
CiaW
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Spokane Wash, USA

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:03 am

Hi
Roxterm is the one that I am using currently. It has the same problem with gnome-terminal. Infact I installed roxterm because of that.
Can you please explain, how it could be related to fonts?
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:04 am

amina wrote:Unfortunately I have no idea about what is causing this.

Until someone has a solution and to test if it works, you could try to use:

Ctrl + H instead of backspace
Ctrl + P instead of up
Ctrl + N instead of down
Ctrl + B instead of left
Ctrl + F instead of right

and see if it works.


It does the same thing with the shortcuts suggested by you.
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby CiaW on Sun Mar 20, 2011 11:57 am

raforon wrote:Hi
Roxterm is the one that I am using currently. It has the same problem with gnome-terminal. Infact I installed roxterm because of that.
Can you please explain, how it could be related to fonts?

I have seen in other applications that unreadable characters clear up when the correct fonts are installed, or when the defaults are revised to use installed fonts. Sorry I forgot to suggest you check the font or display preferences, that might make a difference also. I don't have a recent LMDE example, I'm thinking when I used Fedora.
CiaW
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Spokane Wash, USA

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby Silent Warrior on Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:49 pm

Ah. Well, Gnome's Appearance-module looks the same as it has for a while. Allow me:
raforon: Either right-click on the desktop and click Change wallpaper or go to Menu -> Settings -> Appearance and click the Fonts-tab. Change the font given for 'Fixed-width font' (or whatever it's called in your locale - the option is at the bottom) to, well, anything else, and see if that helps. Try the Liberation-family of fonts, or Droid, Nexus, one of the Artwiz-fonts, maybe the Ubuntu-family... Try these if you're a few fonts short:

Code: Select all
apt install ttf-freefont ttf-bitstream-vera ttf-inconsolata ttf-liberation
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:53 pm

Thank you for replying. I will try this this evening and will post the progress
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:04 pm

CiaW wrote:I have seen in other applications that unreadable characters clear up when the correct fonts are installed, or when the defaults are revised to use installed fonts. Sorry I forgot to suggest you check the font or display preferences, that might make a difference also. I don't have a recent LMDE example, I'm thinking when I used Fedora.


I could be wrong but if it is related to fonts, I should not be able to enter any other alphabets. The thing is I can enter all but it is just the back space key (moves cursor forward and starts printing gibberish), up and right-left arrows. I can not seem to bring the cursor back at all. All other keys type their corresponding letters ok, I just can not delete anything or move the cursor back at all.

Thanks
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby CiaW on Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:16 pm

I could be wrong but if it is related to fonts, I should not be able to enter any other alphabets. The thing is I can enter all but it is just the back space key (moves cursor forward and starts printing gibberish), up and right-left arrows. I can not seem to bring the cursor back at all. All other keys type their corresponding letters ok, I just can not delete anything or move the cursor back at all.
Thanks

Oh yeah, you have a point there. When I originally read the message I thought they were separate issues. My bad. Never mind. :?
CiaW
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Spokane Wash, USA

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby amina on Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:20 am

But also the Ctrl key seems to misfunction if the combinations do not work either.... could you please check Ctrl + C for example?
amina
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:45 am

Re: Some issues with my LMDE

Postby raforon on Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:58 pm

amina wrote:But also the Ctrl key seems to misfunction if the combinations do not work either.... could you please check Ctrl + C for example?

Ctrl+C works fine.
raforon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:10 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest