Install Kde?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Install Kde?

Postby specmod1 on Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:29 pm

How do i install KDE so it don't interfere with Gnome? Like KDE programs showing up on the gnome desktop and crap like that......

And why does every program have to have a K at the front of it? It makes it hard to find programs.... Thats why i never used KDE, But gnome going down hill with this SHELL crap, So now i have to switch to kde sooner or later..
specmod1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Install Kde?

Postby Aging Technogeek on Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:46 pm

The best way to do this is to install the KDE version of Mint in a dual boot with the main edition until you are comfortable with KDE, then you can get rid of the main(Gnome) edition. Installing KDE on top of Gnome is hard to do without some Gnome attributes bleeding over into KDE.

If you are determined to leave Gnome, you might also check out the Xfce and LXDE versions of Mint. They are lighter than either Gnome or KDE and boot and run somewhat quicker on most machines.
Image

Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4604
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Install Kde?

Postby xircon on Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:55 am

Or just set up a new user.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Install Kde?

Postby craig10x on Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:24 am

by the way...i don't know if you were aware of this, but while Ubuntu is going to have both gnome 3 and the gnome "shell" in their next edition...Mint will NOT...Clem is not going in that direction...Mint 11 will have Gnome 3 but WITHOUT the shell so it will look like the old familar gnome that you know...so if you stay with Mint (as opposed to Ubuntu) you don't HAVE to switch to KDE just to avoid it...

Also, i believe that even in Ubuntu, one will have the option of shutting off the shell aspect if they desire...at least that is what i read...but Clem definitely is NOT going that way...just for your information...
craig10x
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Install Kde?

Postby specmod1 on Sun Mar 20, 2011 2:37 pm

thats what i am thinking add a new user? should the user be admin?
specmod1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:02 pm

Re: Install Kde?

Postby xircon on Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:06 pm

Your existing admin password will work on all new users, I am very naughty, I set sudo up so it doesn't need a password :)
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests