Installing & setting up Mint XFCE desktop in LMDE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Installing & setting up Mint XFCE desktop in LMDE

Postby madwoollything on Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:38 pm

I'd like to try out the XFCE desktop on a box which already has LMDE running.
There are a number of packages in synaptic when searching for XFCE & Mint.
Which ones should be installed to have the authentic Mint XFCE desktop?
Last edited by madwoollything on Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
madwoollything
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Installing & setting up Mint XFCE desktop in LMDE

Postby tdockery97 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:48 pm

You should be able to do sudo apt-get install mint-meta-xfce. That should bring in the entire xfce desktop and allow you to choose your preference at login.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4909
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Installing & setting up Mint XFCE desktop in LMDE

Postby madwoollything on Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:35 pm

tdockery97 wrote:You should be able to do sudo apt-get install mint-meta-xfce. That should bring in the entire xfce desktop and allow you to choose your preference at login.


Thanks .... have xfce up and running and am using Mint Menu. The Mint Menu seems to be picking up the gnome settings rather than the xfce settings eg when launching 'control centre'. Is there a way around this?
madwoollything
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:46 am

Re: Installing & setting up Mint XFCE desktop in LMDE

Postby tdockery97 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:20 pm

Not having dug too far into the configuration of mintMenu, I'm not sure. I do know that when you have 2 desktop environments installed, you tend to get overlap of packages and such. Also, from what I've seen on the forums Mint Xfce seems to have a lot of Gnome components incorporated to start with.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4909
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Installing & setting up Mint XFCE desktop in LMDE

Postby madwoollything on Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:36 am

tdockery97 wrote:Not having dug too far into the configuration of mintMenu, I'm not sure. I do know that when you have 2 desktop environments installed, you tend to get overlap of packages and such. Also, from what I've seen on the forums Mint Xfce seems to have a lot of Gnome components incorporated to start with.


I think you are right from what I've experienced. Its time to choose .... gnome or xfce.

What is great is that you HAVE a choice in the first place!
madwoollything
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:46 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests