GDM Autologin: change wait time

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby c.monty on Fri May 27, 2011 5:41 am

Hello!
LMDE uses GDM and I can configure the autologin for a specific user account.

Quesion:
How do I change the default wait time of 30s in a config file?
The GDM GUI will not accept any time smaller than 30s.

THX
c.monty
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby Silent Warrior on Fri May 27, 2011 6:58 am

Can you use that gdmsetup-utility, then? I can't, so I can't really help you with the graphical way... And my attempts at finding the configuration file came up dry, as well. Now I know this file is NOT in /etc/gdm3 or in the parent directory /etc. Maybe /etc/default is the next place to investigate?
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby c.monty on Fri May 27, 2011 9:24 am

I can open gdmsetup, however I cannot unlock it.

In /etc/default I don't find a config file for gdm.
c.monty
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:23 am

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby thomasmc on Fri May 27, 2011 11:01 am

c.monty wrote:I can open gdmsetup, however I cannot unlock it.


Hmm, I used gdmsetup a month or two ago, and it worked fine. I just checked, and I can't get it to unlock, either, even if I run it as root.
They must have broken it with a recent update.
thomasmc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby psych1610 on Fri May 27, 2011 1:09 pm

I can confirm that the unlock button for gdmsetup is broken. There were one or two other reports of it around the forums when I searched last. When I wanted to auto login I searched hard for the config file to do this with and came up with /etc/gdm3/daemon.conf

This short section on configuring it may help you do what you want. http://pastebin.com/h8Wqdwsh
psych1610
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:12 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests