GDM Autologin: change wait time

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby c.monty on Fri May 27, 2011 5:41 am

Hello!
LMDE uses GDM and I can configure the autologin for a specific user account.

Quesion:
How do I change the default wait time of 30s in a config file?
The GDM GUI will not accept any time smaller than 30s.

THX
c.monty
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby Silent Warrior on Fri May 27, 2011 6:58 am

Can you use that gdmsetup-utility, then? I can't, so I can't really help you with the graphical way... And my attempts at finding the configuration file came up dry, as well. Now I know this file is NOT in /etc/gdm3 or in the parent directory /etc. Maybe /etc/default is the next place to investigate?
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby c.monty on Fri May 27, 2011 9:24 am

I can open gdmsetup, however I cannot unlock it.

In /etc/default I don't find a config file for gdm.
c.monty
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:23 am

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby thomasmc on Fri May 27, 2011 11:01 am

c.monty wrote:I can open gdmsetup, however I cannot unlock it.


Hmm, I used gdmsetup a month or two ago, and it worked fine. I just checked, and I can't get it to unlock, either, even if I run it as root.
They must have broken it with a recent update.
thomasmc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: GDM Autologin: change wait time

Postby psych1610 on Fri May 27, 2011 1:09 pm

I can confirm that the unlock button for gdmsetup is broken. There were one or two other reports of it around the forums when I searched last. When I wanted to auto login I searched hard for the config file to do this with and came up with /etc/gdm3/daemon.conf

This short section on configuring it may help you do what you want. http://pastebin.com/h8Wqdwsh
psych1610
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:12 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests