Registering to "latest" repository

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 on Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:42 am

Hi

New on LMDE. I changed today my Debian repos to latest Mint repository.

This is what I did:

Image

Is it normal and expected to change three Debian repos to a single Mint one or did I do a mistake?
Mint is so strong? :o
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby tdockery97 on Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:55 am

My understanding is that you leave the Debian security and multimedia repos active also, as they have packages not in the Mint Debian repos.

The instructions are here: viewtopic.php?f=141&t=76556&start=0
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 on Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:56 am

Thanks for the info and the link. :)

I rescued my two Debian repos and I also downloaded and installed mintupdate-debian.
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm on Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:38 pm

How did you download the mintupdate-debian? I tried earlier from the terminal and got a message saying the package could not be found.
msm
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero on Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:34 pm

hi msm,
after you changed sources.list according to your choice: latest to get a more "stable" LMDE, incoming to test issues, run
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install mintupdate-debian

tell us how it goes
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 on Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:10 am

Hi

Latest update-pack.

After installing the zerozero way, mintupdate-debian with its nice update pack info button began working only a day later, when I restarted my computer. It informed me of the arrival on updatepack n°1 (mainly related things about codecs) and installed it without any hitch.

In the update info windows, I was informed of regressions for the arrival of some Gnome 3 components and that I could delay their install, but these components were actually not part of the update pack. .

So, I would say, it's working. For now, everything is quiet on the Western front. :)
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby grizzler on Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:47 am

Actually, the codec related items weren't part of an update pack.
They're from the multimedia repository and will continue to come in as they are released.

Also, if you used to update regularly, the Gnome 3 components mentioned have probably already been installed. They predate the Update Pack system. Check your terminal window, the calculator and the system monitor.
grizzler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 on Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:41 am

1. - I have been notified of the arrival of update pack n°1 with exactly these items

Image

2. - Indeed, my gnome-terminal is now Gnome 3 and working well though the drop down menus looks a little old-fashioned, Clearlooks like.
calculatrice (gcalctool) is v. 6.02 and has the same Clearlooks style too (not my everyday use anyway).
moniteur système is v. 3.0.1 and the same as above.
Gnome 3 is creeping in... :)

(mistake)
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm on Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:13 am

zerozero wrote:hi msm,
after you changed sources.list according to your choice: latest to get a more "stable" LMDE, incoming to test issues, run
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install mintupdate-debian

tell us how it goes


I changed the sources.list to the latest as you described in here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 56&start=0 and first ran the sudo apt-get update and then ran sudo apt-get install mintupdate-debian, but still get the package not found error. Weird...
msm
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero on Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:17 am

msm,
please show us the output of
Code: Select all
cat /etc/apt/sources.list

and
Code: Select all
apt-cache policy mintupdate-debian
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm on Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:33 pm

Here you go:

Code: Select all
$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free



Code: Select all
$ apt-cache policy mintupdate-debian
N: Ignoring file 'google-chrome.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'google-talkplugin.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Unable to locate package mintupdate-debian
msm
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero on Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:58 pm

well it's as you said weird :lol: the repos are right; apt-cache policy shows errors related to the repos in sources.list.d, maybe that's why can't find mintupdate; if you do a
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
the result is clear or do you see any errors? like couldn't refresh the list... old ones were used (or something similar, i don't recall the exact wording)

also you can see in synaptic and do a search for mintupdate, the pkg should come up, and mark it to install (if the apt-get update is performing correctly)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm on Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:05 pm

Doing a sudo apt-get update goes well as such, but the last lines show these errors:

Code: Select all
N: Ignoring file 'google-chrome.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'google-talkplugin.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'dropbox.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
E: Release file expired, ignoring http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/dists/testing/Release (invalid since 5h 42min 53s)


Would this have an impact?

Edit: Synaptic Manager indicates that mintupdate version 4.3.2 is already installed.
msm
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero on Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:14 pm

i believe it's that last line; i saw another post already with the same error: something with the server, the repo is not being reached;
my advise will be to wait
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm on Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:50 pm

Ok, I'll wait. Thanks for your replies.
msm
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 on Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:05 am

The "first" one :) (I forgot to give this screenshot)

Image
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby Dr.m0x on Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:00 am

grizzler wrote:Actually, the codec related items weren't part of an update pack.
They're from the multimedia repository and will continue to come in as they are released.

Also, if you used to update regularly, the Gnome 3 components mentioned have probably already been installed. They predate the Update Pack system. Check your terminal window, the calculator and the system monitor.


I was wondering why my fonts were all messed up in the terminal.

---
Sent from my Cyanogenmod-ified phone.
Image
User avatar
Dr.m0x
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:12 am

Re: Re: Registering to

Postby roger64 on Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:07 am

Dr.m0x wrote:I was wondering why my fonts were all messed up in the terminal.

If I judge from mine, this is unrelated. The only thing I noticed is a theme change for the applications concerned, but not a font quality difference.
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby SimonTS on Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:49 am

@Roger,

Did you ever resolve that issue with the Repo? I asked the same question in a different thread and ZeroZero was kind enough to answer me, but I saw no update on this one.
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/80mintupdate-debian


Just put one line in there;-
Acquire::Check-Valid-Until "false";


Save it and you should be good to go.
User avatar
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 on Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:11 am

@Simon TS

No problem with my install. I've this Acquire line in place and mintupdtate-debian install is in order. Thanks.
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests