Packages already in GTK3

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Packages already in GTK3

Postby TinyTony on Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:47 pm

Hello everybody,

Some packages have already switched to GTK3 in Debian Testing, like gnome-terminal, while others (the vast majority I'd say) haven't, like gedit.
Code: Select all
tt@macondo ~ $ apt-cache policy gnome-terminal
gnome-terminal:
  Installé : 3.0.1-1
tt@macondo ~ $ apt-cache policy gedit
gedit:
  Installé : 2.30.4-2
tt@macondo ~ $ apt-cache depends gnome-terminal
gnome-terminal
  Dépend: libgtk-3-0
tt@macondo ~ $ apt-cache depends gedit
gedit
  Dépend: libgtk2.0-0

I suppose packages are going to be more and more GTK3 based and it is useless to try to fight that. The problem is that for the moment, apps based on GTK3 look ugly and seem to lack theme.

So I have two questions :
– how to make GTK3 apps match the Linux Mint theme for GTK2 ?
– more generally, how are we suppose to manage this transition phase towards GTK3 and Gnome 3 ?
TinyTony
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Packages already in GTK3

Postby cdysthe on Wed Jul 20, 2011 6:06 pm

I also wonder about this since Gnome-Terminal (which I use a lot) looks bad. The System Monitor, Calculator and a couple of other programs have the same problem. Since Linux Mint has chosen to stick to Gnome 2 sooner or later a solution to the Gnome 3 based programs included must be resolved. Some minimal gtk3 lib package could be the solution, but I've heard gtk2 and 3 aren't compatible.
User avatar
cdysthe
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 12:18 pm

Re: Packages already in GTK3

Postby TinyTony on Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:12 pm

cdysthe wrote:I also wonder about this since Gnome-Terminal (which I use a lot) looks bad. The System Monitor, Calculator and a couple of other programs have the same problem. Since Linux Mint has chosen to stick to Gnome 2 sooner or later a solution to the Gnome 3 based programs included must be resolved. Some minimal gtk3 lib package could be the solution, but I've heard gtk2 and 3 aren't compatible.

Same thing for system monitor and calculator. You're wrong, GTK3 libs are installed in the same time than GTK2 ones, they are not incompatible :
Code: Select all
vincent@macondo ~ $ apt-cache policy libgtk-3-0
libgtk-3-0:
  Installé : 3.0.10-1
vincent@macondo ~ $ apt-cache policy libgtk2.0-0
libgtk2.0-0:
  Installé : 2.24.4-3

The problem seems more to be the lack of theme.
TinyTony
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:51 am

Re: Packages already in GTK3

Postby zerozero on Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:24 pm

Hi TinyTony,
- as for the first question, there's a hack here http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... al#p441626 to make the system atm able to use gtk3;
- as for the second, the idea seems to be, hold as much as possible Gnome3 (to avoid the inherent breakages), and that is being done with the latest and incoming repos.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests