New on LMDE, Lots of Hardware and Software Issues

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
mfreeman
Level 4
Level 4

New on LMDE, Lots of Hardware and Software Issues

Post by mfreeman »

I'm new to LMDE, but not to Mint. With all the problems the newest Ubuntu version has had on my laptop recently, I decided to give the LMDE Gnome 64-bit version a try. I've got loads of problems (both hardware and software) that I'm hoping someone might have some solutions for.

1. Cannot get the proprietary ATI driver working at all. Not sure what the issue is there. It works fine in the Ubuntu-based Mint. Hardware: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200

2. Suspend kills my screen. I can suspend the computer, and I can "wake it up" again, but the screen doesn't come back up. This might possibly be solved when I get #1 fixed. I don't know. I know the computer is functioning fine otherwise. I can hear normal sounds (I've got an e-mail checker running that makes a sound when a new e-mail comes in). I can make the Caps Lock and Num Lock lights turn on and off. I cannot get any response from the screen.

3. I cannot get Indicators working properly. I know Indicator-Applet an Ubuntu thing, but I was hoping that because it is also in the Debian repos that it would work the same as in Ubuntu. I cannot get Evolution, Thunderbird, Empathy, Pidgin, or XChat to show up in the Messaging menu. Only "Broadcast" (aka Gwibber) is listed, and I never use that. I cannot install many of my other favorite indicators (can't find the Debian equivalents). Any ideas? Or am I stuck with the old applets and notification area concept?