Page 1 of 2

How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:26 am
by disko
The is how I got install to resume from hibernate (LDME, but should work still).

use blkid to get the UUID number of your swap partition and make sure this number matches the one in /etc/fstab.

got to /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d check the UUID in the resume file in this DIR matches the one you got from BLKID

run update-initramfs -u

reboot, ensure you system is set to hibernate, pop open a few programs to test and try to hibernate and resume.

Hope that helps, worked for me..

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:02 pm
by BrunoMiranda
I had the same problem, and this fixed it!
Don't know why but the UUIDs in fstab, both for swap and / were all wrong; and also in the resume file.

Hibernating in now nativelly working fine.


That's a bullseye, thanks a lot!
Bruno

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:30 pm
by Mozenrath
Could you be more specific? When I try using blkid, nothing happens. I do have it installed.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:22 am
by disko
Mozenrath

Try "blkid -c /dev/null"

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:03 pm
by Mozenrath
disko wrote:Mozenrath

Try "blkid -c /dev/null"
Doesn't seem to make a difference. Is blkid supposed to print the UUID in the terminal when I execute it? I know that I have blkid installed because when I type "blkid -help", it shows the command options for it. It's just when I do anything else, nothing happens.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:30 am
by elvenic
Mozenrath wrote: Doesn't seem to make a difference. Is blkid supposed to print the UUID in the terminal when I execute it? I know that I have blkid installed because when I type "blkid -help", it shows the command options for it. It's just when I do anything else, nothing happens.
Try to run blkid as root user, for example via sudo:

Code: Select all

sudo blkid
On my machine sudo as a regular user only outputs swap's partition uuid, but when I run it as root, it outputs uuids of all partitions in the system.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 5:19 am
by marlar
Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:00 am
by RavanH
marlar wrote:Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky
+1

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:06 pm
by shurguywutt
I have an interesting situation. I have a hardware RAID that my system is installed on. Here is my setup:

/boot 512 usb drive w/ swap

/ RAID Array 1 w/ swap

/home RAID Array 2 w/ swap

I pull up my blkid and everything is perfect except my usb swap is not listed (I added it later in Gparted). So I added a listing for it. I am going to run the updates and see if this fixes the issue.

In order for my RAID to start up correctly from hibernate I need to make sure the drivers get loaded back up from the usb.

Just my 2 cents.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:49 pm
by shurguywutt
Speaking of which, is there somewhere I can edit what I want to do in order to wake the computer up? Is this a MB BIOS setting?

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:28 am
by artz
I use mint 10. Swap is right size (2,2 GB), ram 1024, Pentium 4.
First I did not had hibernate installed - I installed it. Second I had error while:

sudo update-initramfs -u

update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-24-generic
cryptsetup: WARNING: found more than one resume device candidate:
/dev/sdc5
UUID=8f7961e1-3069-48f4-85f8-9d8ebee84a28
Warning: No support for locale: et_EE.utf8

Hibernate does not work. It just locks screen. One time worked, but not booted up. Suspend is working fine. What could be the issue?

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:52 pm
by Greydog56
I spent days learning new commands and following suggestions such as above. I really appreciate the willingness of people to share their knowledge. I've a new build with Asus M4A88TD-V EVO MB/Phenom II X4 840 and 16 gig ram. What made suspend/hibernate work for me was taken from anthers advice to disable USB3 and SATA6 in the bios. Now my suspend and hibernate work without any issues. I'm running Mint10 64bit.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 10:46 am
by krustybaguette
marlar wrote:Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky
Don't know if thread is "sticky". I'm guessing that means permanent? Anyway, all my UUID's matched and here's what happens at last step:

kenneth@kenneth-ThinkPad-X60 ~ $ sudo update-initramfs /u
Invalid argument for option -k.
Usage: /usr/sbin/update-initramfs [OPTION]...

Options:
-k [version] Specify kernel version or 'all'
-c Create a new initramfs
-u Update an existing initramfs
-d Remove an existing initramfs
-t Take over a custom initramfs with this one
-b Set alternate boot directory
-v Be verbose
-h This message

Since I didn't specify option /k what gives?

Edit added a few hours later:

After doing the above I rebooted and ran notepad under wine, a game or two, Open Office Writer, and closed my lid (set to suspend) after a wait I reopened the lid and after entering my password previously open program remained open. That is a step in the right direction. Still waiting to get hibernate to work.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:13 am
by mintuser
Hi,

I have a similiar problem with resuming from hibernation using uswsusp. The system freezes while showing the boot screen "resuming from /dev/disk/by-uuid/..."

I followed the instructions above but I have no clue why it still doesn't work.

/etc/uswsusp.conf

Code: Select all

# /etc/uswsusp.conf(8) -- Configuration file for s2disk/s2both
resume device = /dev/disk/by-uuid/799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027
splash = y
compress = y
early writeout = y
# image size = 1439618826
image size = 0
RSA key file = /etc/uswsusp.key
shutdown method = platform
# threads = y
/etc/fstab

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
# for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
# devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
# Commented out by Dropbox
# /dev/sda1       /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027 none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/sda1 / ext4 errors=remount-ro,user_xattr 0 1
/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume

Code: Select all

#RESUME=UUID=799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027
RESUME=/dev/disk/by-uuid/799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:32 am
by mintuser
Bump

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:39 am
by mintuser
Anybody?

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:58 am
by likenatural
I got it to work by simply doing this change. Then Reume worked fine.
commented the earlier line and added the current syntax. It worked , i dont know whats missing in debian/LMDE to recognise the first commented syntax.

/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume:

#RESUME=UUID=xxxxxxxx
RESUME=/dev/disk/by-uuid/xxxxxxxx




Previously, the below error is happening in /var/log/dmesg.

PM: Hibernation image not present or could not be loaded.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:33 am
by atupmok
When I run the command sudo

Code: Select all

update-initramfs -u
I get the following messages.

update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.38-8-generic-pae
cryptsetup: WARNING: failed to detect canonical device of /dev/sda6
Warning: No support for locale: en_US.utf8

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:35 pm
by den@shibuya
marlar wrote:Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky
Worked for me as well. Fixed my hibernate problem in LMDE. Many thanks.

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:12 pm
by Matt267
Thanks to disko! It also worked for me. (I was surprised to see Grub load when coming out of hibernate though)

Matt