[Solved]Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved]Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby headkase on Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:04 pm

Ok, so today I found some updates and applied them.

After installation the "Mark All Upgrades" button was simply missing from Synaptic. To resolve this issue I did the following command in a terminal:

sudo apt-get install --reinstall synaptic

Hope this helps someone out there! ;)

Bill.

Edit: here's the fix ->

Roken wrote:OK - here's the fix.

If you haven't already (or if you've rebooted) reinstall synaptic.

Now, before you reboot open a terminal and:

Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/linuxmint/adjustments/10-mintsystem-synaptic.preserve


This will create a new text file. Add the following two lines to the file:

Code: Select all
/usr/share/synaptic/glade/window_main.glade
/usr/share/synaptic/gtkbuilder/window_main.ui


Save. Now your "Mark All Upgrades" button should be back and surviving reboots. To revert to default mint behaviour:

Code: Select all
sudo rm /etc/linuxmint/adjustments/10-mintsystem-synaptic.preserve


This is the correct way to disable the mintsystem change to synaptic (based on examination of the mintsystem script) and should survive updates in the future.
Last edited by headkase on Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:41 pm, edited 3 times in total.
headkase
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:49 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: [SOLVED] Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby headkase on Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:19 pm

Spoke too soon. After a reboot, the "Mark All Upgrades" button is gone again.. :(

Advice?
headkase
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:49 am

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby GeneC on Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:54 pm

Same here

No "mark all upgrades" button.

Reinstall synaptic = OK (back again)!

Re-boot = Gone again. :roll:

Must be a bug from todays updates.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky (Debian Testing)
LMDE Xfce (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby mads on Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:35 pm

WARNING: Please, don't get mad! I know the following sounds crazy, but at least it will not do things worse. :)

For a while ago, I had a similar issue with "Quick filter". It finally came back in place after running these:
sudo apt-get autoremove
sudo apt-get autoclean
sudo apt-get clean

Opening Synaptic after these will hopefully show "Mark all upgrades" button again.

PS! I have installed the latest updates and I don't have any issue with "Mark all upgrades" button.
User avatar
mads
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1309
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby headkase on Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:04 pm

mads wrote:WARNING: Please, don't get mad! I know the following sounds crazy, but at least it will not do things worse. :)

For a while ago, I had a similar issue with "Quick filter". It finally came back in place after running these:
sudo apt-get autoremove
sudo apt-get autoclean
sudo apt-get clean

Opening Synaptic after these will hopefully show "Mark all upgrades" button again.

PS! I have installed the latest updates and I don't have any issue with "Mark all upgrades" button.


Did this, button still missing... :(
headkase
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:49 am

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby proxima_centauri on Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:21 pm

This is how the main edition works, perhaps an Mint update is patching Synaptic now in LMDE.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby GeneC on Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:23 pm

mads wrote:WARNING: Please, don't get mad! I know the following sounds crazy, but at least it will not do things worse. :)

For a while ago, I had a similar issue with "Quick filter". It finally came back in place after running these:
sudo apt-get autoremove
sudo apt-get autoclean
sudo apt-get clean

Opening Synaptic after these will hopefully show "Mark all upgrades" button again.

PS! I have installed the latest updates and I don't have any issue with "Mark all upgrades" button.


Heck. I am not even miffed! :lol:
Always thankful for any suggestions. :wink:

This is ODD though.
I have two installations of LMDE, one tracking "testing", one tracking SID.
BOTH have lost the "Mark all upgrades" button, today ! ?

Its Synaptic version 0.75.1, hasn't been upgraded in a while.
(Though if you go to synaptic, and "hit" HELP>ABOUT it says 0.70, but I did notice that before, and this is the first day the button disappeared).
I thought it was just particular to me, but I guess not?

P.S. I am running the Liquorix kernels, but cant see what difference that would make.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky (Debian Testing)
LMDE Xfce (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby GeneC on Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:35 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:This is how the main edition works, perhaps an Mint update is patching Synaptic now in LMDE.


Yes, I wondered if the new Mint Update that Clem has been working on had any bearing on this problem.

I tried uninstalling mint update, reinstalling synaptic, "Mark All Upgrades" back again. :D
Re-booted

GONE again! :shock:

Heck, I use Synaptic for updates.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky (Debian Testing)
LMDE Xfce (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby proxima_centauri on Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:39 pm

GeneC wrote:Yes, I wondered if the new Mint Update that Clem has been working on had any bearing on this problem.

I tried uninstalling mint update, reinstalling synaptic, "Mark All Upgrades" back again. :D
Re-booted

GONE again! :shock:

Seems to suggest something is running at boot to patch Synaptic's layout.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby GeneC on Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:51 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:
GeneC wrote:Yes, I wondered if the new Mint Update that Clem has been working on had any bearing on this problem.

I tried uninstalling mint update, reinstalling synaptic, "Mark All Upgrades" back again. :D
Re-booted

GONE again! :shock:

Seems to suggest something is running at boot to patch Synaptic's layout.


I found it not a good idea to remove Mint Update.
It also removed access to "Software Sources" (Gui), or clicking on "settings">"repositories" in Synaptic (which leads to the same thing.). No response.

I re-installed Mint Update, and guess I will be using that.
Cant have Clem doing all that work for nothing can we. :roll: :wink:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky (Debian Testing)
LMDE Xfce (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby DrHu on Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:03 pm

My complaints about synaptic changes bore no fruit
--and I did realize that mintupdate was being developed as a replacement
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6588
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby GeneC on Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:25 pm

DrHu wrote:My complaints about synaptic changes bore no fruit
--and I did realize that mintupdate was being developed as a replacement


I guess that means we are being discouraged from using Synaptic for updates?
But it so "slick"!?
I almost never used the Mint Update. Removed the "update icon" from the panel (hated that thing. always having to look over to see if there were updates avail,got on my nerves). :lol:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky (Debian Testing)
LMDE Xfce (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby zerozero on Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:35 pm

the culprit here must be the new mintsystem pkg (that odd enough was updated today)
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6467
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby jeffreyC on Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:46 pm

Very likely as synaptic in my Debian install (non Mint) still has the mark all upgrades button, as always.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby kmb42vt on Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:01 pm

I noticed this myself. The weird thing about it is that in the Synaptic menu bar under, "Help/About", it shows Synaptic as version 0.7 yet it Synaptic's package list it shows Synaptic as version 0.75.1. Such rolling distro weirdness. :D

Hmm, this thread probably should have posted under LMDE breakages?
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby zerozero on Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm

well, i just did the test: upgraded this evening my lmde-sid, but before pinned mintsystem to v 7.7.3 and synaptic still looks as it should :mrgreen:

to be honest, some things i can't understand :?:
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6467
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby GeneC on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:05 pm

zerozero wrote:well, i just did the test: upgraded this evening my lmde-sid, but before pinned mintsystem to v 7.7.3 and synaptic still looks as it should :mrgreen:

to be honest, some things i can't understand :?:


I am with you on that, my friend.! :shock:

But, you hit the nail right on the head. It was the update to mintsystem that made the button dissapear.

I un-installed mintsystem v 7.7.5.
Installed v 7.7.3 from Julia repo.
Re-installed synaptic.
IT's BACK! :?

Re-booted -- Its still there... :D

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky (Debian Testing)
LMDE Xfce (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby kmb42vt on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:33 pm

Ah, no big deal. I'll just let things go as they are and keep reinstalling Synaptic when I first boot up in the morning. I'm curious as to when the devs will actually fix this so I need to keep things as they are for now. I also want to see what fixes it, like a change to Mintsystem or a change to Synaptic for example. Just a personal obsession mind you. :D
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby viking777 on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:45 pm

Well I find this very odd.

I have a fully up to date LMDE. I haven't pinned anything, uninstalled anything, reinstalled anything, in fact I haven't done anything to anything except updates. I have also rebooted twice and done a full shut down twice as well.

My mintsystem is version 7.7.5.

Synaptic had a 'mark all upgrades' button when it woke up this morning and it still has one now, and it always has had one all day long.

Isn't that strange?

I know how annoying the removal of this button is ( I railed against it when it disappeared from Mint 10).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.

Postby GeneC on Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:04 pm

kmb42vt wrote:Ah, no big deal. I'll just let things go as they are and keep reinstalling Synaptic when I first boot up in the morning. I'm curious as to when the devs will actually fix this so I need to keep things as they are for now. I also want to see what fixes it, like a change to Mintsystem or a change to Synaptic for example. Just a personal obsession mind you. :D


Yes, Its not a big thing, just curious. Just want to know what is going on, so I left my SID install with the latest MintUpdate (and no "mark all upgrade" button), and reverted my "testing" partition to the 7.7.3 version, and a button. and that version pinned. Just to see what happens. :P

=============================================================

Re: Synaptic "Mark all upgrades" button gone.
by viking777 on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:45 pm

Well I find this very odd.

I have a fully up to date LMDE. I haven't pinned anything, uninstalled anything, reinstalled anything, in fact I haven't done anything to anything except updates. I have also rebooted twice and done a full shut down twice as well.

My mintsystem is version 7.7.5.

Synaptic had a 'mark all upgrades' button when it woke up this morning and it still has one now, and it always has had one all day long.

Isn't that strange?

I know how annoying the removal of this button is ( I railed against it when it disappeared from Mint 10).


Unlike you, I am not quite "stock". I have the Liquorix kernel, and " backports" enabled.
I do not look at any of these issues as "breakages", just "small sprains"! :lol:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky (Debian Testing)
LMDE Xfce (SID)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Other Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests