KDE on LMDE

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

KDE on LMDE

Postby ehabreda on Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:00 am

Hello everybody,

Can we open a thread to talk about KDE on LMDE.
I installed LMDE and then I added KDE from Debian QT/KDE repo. Later on I had the KDE 4.6.3 updates from testing.
Guess what? Every thing is cool!
Except one thing which is that sometimes my laptop freezes when I maximize some window because of a bug in nvidia or the xorg :?:
I don't have any questions but I would like from you to just to talk and share about your experiences or problems that you are facing with KDE.
Regards. :D
ehabreda
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:32 pm
Location: Doha-Qatar

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: KDE on LMDE

Postby sumski on Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:48 am

I'ts nvidia bug. Some users reported better behaviour with the latest beta driver
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: KDE on LMDE

Postby SebbyNC on Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:13 am

I'm currently running KDE 4.6.3 from the Debian testing KDE repo, and it looks fine. It is very eyecandy (to me) and a little bit resource hungry when you activate a lot of the desktop effects (you need to have 3D acceleration to get most of the effects) but you can setup which effects you like and deactivate some other effects so KDE has less footprint on the system.
I'm still not undersatnding how the Activities work. I tried to create 2 activities (network/web and Office/file management) but the activities panel disappeared and I coudn't make it appear again.
My favorite effects are the Desktop grid (to see a preview of all the virtual desktops at the same time on a grid) and the windows switcher that zooms out to show a preview of all the open windows side by side. I like the general looks of KDE better than Gnome 2.3x.
Zerozero (a forum member) suggested me to try the "Lancelot" menu application launcher as a replacement of the KDE start menu,and I like it a lot, it works similarly to the Mint Menu plugin in Gnome.
SebbyNC
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:06 am

Re: KDE on LMDE

Postby TBABill on Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:32 pm

+1 for Lancelot menu! Looks sweet and you can control some of its behavior like mouse-over.
TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: KDE on LMDE

Postby wil on Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:32 am

Tried out KDE 4.6.3 within the past week, very fancy. :lol:

One blocker for me is that I use Chrome, it seems to lock up under KDE when opening up gmail. Under Gnome it all works well, however.

Can anyone verify that Chrome/Gmail work okay under KDE? I didn't spend much time on it, but after several attempts the issue showed up nearly every attempt.
wil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:26 am

Re: KDE on LMDE

Postby sumski on Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:05 pm

Hopefully , we will have better support for this:

Image
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia


Return to Other Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests