LMDE based on sid

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LMDE based on sid

Postby KenWeiLL on Sat Sep 25, 2010 1:53 am

I've seen discussions about changing LMDE from testing to stable (upcoming squeeze) but have not encountered changing from testing to sid (unstable).

Well, I just did change the repo from testing to sid, on multimedia, i changed to experimental.
So far, almost all went well. I did dist-upgrade and only encountered one problem.

"W: Failed to fetch http://ftp.debian.org/debian/pool/main/ ... -2_all.deb
Hash Sum mismatch"

Other than that, everything seems smooth.

I've tested several distro before on this same PC I'm using right now, all of them have slow performance when it comes to flash with my machine. Haven't tried flash with LMDE based on Testing. I have tested flash on my machine only after dist-upgrading with sid repos. I was surprised with flash performance. It's as smooth as playing flash games on winxp. :D
Image
User avatar
KenWeiLL
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 8:25 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby mati75 on Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:16 am

For fix this problem you must run:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f

I have that some problem on normal install debian sid.
Image
User avatar
mati75
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:00 am
Location: Poland

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby ugh on Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:39 am

I upgraded LMDE to Sid without issue as well. Nice and snappy just as you'd expect.
OS: Linux Mint / Debian Sid
Kernel: 3.2.0-2-amd64
Desktop: Cinnamon
ugh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:20 pm

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby gotjazz on Sat Sep 25, 2010 12:50 pm

hrm I don't know - I mean sid and testing aren't THAT much apart from each other (even now when squeeze is already frozen) so, apart from the aparently better sevurity on sid, right now I'd rather think "why bother?"
I don't know how up-to-date that extra security repo for testing is so even that might not be an issue. Anyway, testing is less likely to break and not so far behind...
Image
User avatar
gotjazz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:38 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby omenest on Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:40 pm

gotjazz wrote:...aparently better sevurity on sid, right now I'd rather think "why bother?"
I don't know how up-to-date that extra security repo for testing is so even that might not be an issue.


Firstly, sid has no security team whatsoever. Testing does in the freeze phase.
Secondly, when Debian pushes 6.0 codename 'Squeeze' current testing will be replaced by packages that are currently in sid.
Thirdly, the "extra security repository" is enabled by default, so if you haven't messed with your sources list, it should still be there.

As far as Debian base goes, sid is the only true rolling distro among all it's flavors. Price to pay for this is lack of security and potential system instability, but this is nothing that common sense (TM) can't mitigate. If anything, the dangers it carries should make you read up on changelogs and forums, hell, maybe even learn something in the process before you hit that update all button.

Running sid is the nerd way of living on the edge :lol:
User avatar
omenest
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby KenWeiLL on Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:13 am

mati75 wrote:For fix this problem you must run:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f

I have that some problem on normal install debian sid.


Thanks, but it didn't solve the problem.
Image
User avatar
KenWeiLL
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 8:25 am

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby anamnesis on Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:05 am

KenWeiLL wrote:
mati75 wrote:For fix this problem you must run:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f

I have that some problem on normal install debian sid.


Thanks, but it didn't solve the problem.


No wonder. $ sudo apt-get -f install might solve your problems.
anamnesis
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Cornwall, GB

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby vincent on Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:13 am

omenest wrote:As far as Debian base goes, sid is the only true rolling distro among all it's flavors.


Not quite; Testing is also qualified as a rolling release distro, it's just that updates take a bit more time to trickle down from Unstable to Testing. You'd always be a bit behind Unstable in terms of cutting-edge-ness, but you'll be able to run Testing for an indefinite amount of time without having to re-install (until you're bored of Debian, or you break it so badly for some reason that you have to re-install); isn't that what "rolling release" means?
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby indaymadel on Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:15 pm

vincent wrote:Not quite; Testing is also qualified as a rolling release distro, it's just that updates take a bit more time to trickle down from Unstable to Testing. You'd always be a bit behind Unstable in terms of cutting-edge-ness, but you'll be able to run Testing for an indefinite amount of time without having to re-install (until you're bored of Debian, or you break it so badly for some reason that you have to re-install); isn't that what "rolling release" means?


PCLinuxOS is a rolling release, yet it's stable. I even think, as I've what observed, that it's even more bleeding edge than Debian Sid itself.
Get started building backlinks using my free backlinks collection.
indaymadel
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby sumski on Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:11 am

I think Sid is currrently maybe most stable of all "released" distros, because they are preparing Squeeze for release, and packages must first come into Sid, so at this time there isn't any of the bleeding edge packages in Sid. If you want upstream packages, enable Experimental. (Wouldn't recommend it,only if you pick individual packages)
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby reference2myself on Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:44 pm

I just upgraded to sid too, the only problem I had was with pidgin, uninstalling "pidgin-facebookchat" fixed it
reference2myself
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:44 am

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby Scorpio_Snake on Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:43 pm

I ran Sid for 6 months with only one problem and it wasn't a problem specific to Sid. Sid is actually very stable, though it does have the potential to have problems. I wouldn't use it for servers, but it seems fine for a desktop. I have been thinking about upgrading my LMDE to Sid as well.
Scorpio_Snake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:22 am

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby kruijf on Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:28 am

Can some one tell me what the right sid security line must be i get a 404 on that.
Acer Aspire 5749: Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon


dropbox

Linux steunpunt Soest

Twitter: @bdekruijf

Team Member of the Dutch support forum.
User avatar
kruijf
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:43 pm
Location: Soest, Netherlands

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby vincent on Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:07 am

There is no "security" repository for Sid, like there is for stable and testing. Sid simply moves too fast for the Debian security team to handle, and besides, security fixes land up in newer upstream versions to packages in Sid fairly quickly.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: LMDE based on sid

Postby kruijf on Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:37 am

Thanks for the quick answer.
Acer Aspire 5749: Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon


dropbox

Linux steunpunt Soest

Twitter: @bdekruijf

Team Member of the Dutch support forum.
User avatar
kruijf
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:43 pm
Location: Soest, Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests