Throttle on Debian repositories? [Solved]

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Throttle on Debian repositories? [Solved]

Postby psych1610 on Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:33 pm

Basically as the question says. I recently installed LMDE and have been receiving updates and installing applications at about 40-70 kB/s. I'm sure my connection can handle more than this and it has before from Ubuntu repositories just a few days ago.

Currently updating at just 15 kB/s! I want to love you Debian, I do, but you make it so difficult!

So does Debian throttle their repositories? If not, any tips on how I can diagnose and/or fix the problem? Help is greatly appreciated.
Last edited by psych1610 on Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
psych1610
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:12 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby rivenathos on Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:40 pm

You are probably still using the main repositories. If you switch to one in your country, you may get better speeds. Being in the US, I use:
Code: Select all
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free

Put your country code in there and see if that works for you.

Some of the folks in the forum have had good luck with using the "netselect-apt" package for finding teh fastest Debian mirror. That might help, as well.
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby jeffreyC on Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:44 pm

I also suggest you use netselect-apt to find the fastest repository for you.
Often the closest to you is fastest but not always.
Another idea which may help is to use debdelta.Then you only download the difference from the old package to the new.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby psych1610 on Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:57 pm

Thank you both for your suggestions! I will try them both and get back to you with my successes or failures.

*Edit* Success! Thank you both very much. I quickly changed the repository as suggested to point to the U.S. servers and I intend to try out the 'netselect-apt' package tomorrow.
Last edited by psych1610 on Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
psych1610
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:12 pm

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby axxer on Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:13 am

axxer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 4:12 am

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby Dave68 on Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:34 pm

rivenathos wrote:You are probably still using the main repositories. If you switch to one in your country, you may get better speeds. Being in the US, I use:


Glad to see this!!! I've been trying to figure it out for the last week. (200+ Updates on a new install at 16.6kbs last night).

I'll be checking this tonight on all three installs.

I tried the:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update


...last night before even trying to grab the updates, to no avail, as far as I could see.

Thanks Riv,
Dave
Linux User: 528038
Primary PC: Version: LMDE (201101), 32 Bit.
Alternate 1: Version: Peppermint One OS, 32 Bit.
Laptop: Version: Julia Main (10), AMD 64
Image
User avatar
Dave68
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:15 pm
Location: Bolivar, Missouri

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby psych1610 on Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Yes, that piece of advice to change the repository was some valuable information and one that probably would have pushed me away had I not bothered to ask!

Would it be possible in the future for the mint Installer to determine ones location and put in its best guess for a server so people don't have to deal with it to begin with? It's not hard to change, but for a user friendly distribution it's little things like selecting the repository closest to someone that might do the trick. Maybe 'netselect-apt' can be used for this.

If it sounds reasonable or feasible I'll add it to the feature request page for LMDE. Or maybe make a bug report about it.
psych1610
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:12 pm

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby jeffreyC on Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:13 pm

I do know that the recent Debian Live GUI expert installer does let you chose repositories. So it can be done.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby CiaW on Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:50 pm

psych1610 wrote:Yes, that piece of advice to change the repository was some valuable information and one that probably would have pushed me away had I not bothered to ask!

If it sounds reasonable or feasible I'll add it to the feature request page for LMDE. Or maybe make a bug report about it.

There's also a thread for suggestions / requests for the LMDE spin3 where you could add the suggestion. It is a good idea, and I only knew about changing the repo's from a previous install of Mint 8 I think, on a laptop. Before I found out about it I thought they had the slowest mirrors in existence.
CiaW
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Spokane Wash, USA

Re: Throttle on Debian repositories?

Postby psych1610 on Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:22 pm

Excellent! I'll add my thoughts to the LMDE spin 3 ideas thread and point back here for questions.

Marking this as resolved since I think it is :)
psych1610
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:12 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests