Tested Gnome 3 + PackageKit in LMDE

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: Tested Gnome 3 in LMDE

Postby tdockery97 on Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:00 pm

You make it look good ikey. But I think I'd still be happier staying with 2.32
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4917
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Tested Gnome 3 in LMDE

Postby jesica on Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:28 am

nice work
Image

My Linux Counter number # 566377
Mate
IT Ninja
Happy apt-get-ing!
Linux Mint Donar # 2159


Security is the separation of an asset from a threat.
User avatar
jesica
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:54 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Tested Gnome 3 in LMDE

Postby xircon on Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:46 pm

I successfully built Gnome 3, following the instructions on their site and either omgubuntu or webupd8 blog (can't remember which) it compiled OK but just will not run. Am posting this from my cheapo scroll tablet, so cannot remember exact error, how did you manage it?
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Tested Gnome 3 + PackageKit in LMDE

Postby rivenathos on Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:21 pm

ikey, you live life on the edge. I am not as brave as you. Looks like I shall wait for it to show up eventually in Testing.
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Tested Gnome 3 + PackageKit in LMDE

Postby autocrosser on Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:07 am

FUN!!!!! I was planning to add another install this weekend to track experimental....xulrunner 1.9.2 is not even in sid (and that is needed to build Gnome-Shell from source)--You just gave me the extra push to get it done.....I'll post here when it's done..... :)
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: Tested Gnome 3 + PackageKit in LMDE

Postby xircon on Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:47 am

Added experimental, installed Gnome-Shell, launched with gnome-shell --replace and boom straight back to log-in screen. Shame I really like it, runs fine on my crappy netbook (Ubuntu 10.10). Got it to run on Mandriva before I jumped ship to LMDE, but have never got it to run on this machine on any Debian based distro :(

My machine is a Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core i5 / ATI Mobile HD5000 series card (which I suspect is the problem).
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Tested Gnome 3 + PackageKit in LMDE

Postby gotjazz on Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:31 pm

hrm is this just the gui and using apt-get or is it completely different package-management alltogether?
Image
User avatar
gotjazz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:38 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests