Squeeze is 'official'

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Squeeze is 'official'

Postby vrkalak on Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:55 pm

I have been following the progress of the release of Debian 6.0 Squeeze via identi.ca for the past 17 hours.


Debian HQ: Squeeze is now being pushed to the Linux Mirrors and Torrents around the World.

This is it ... we have 'released'!!

Effective 1900 hours EDT, 5 Feb 2011

It took so long: in the course of this release 693 images for 11 architectures we generated and tested!
A great big Thank You to the DebianFTP Team, Release Team, CD team, www-team and all the people supporting today's press work.

SQUEEZE ME!!!! :lol: I'm having a Squeeze Release Party, by myself, in a cyber-coffee shop.

New "stable' Squeeze > http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/6.0.0/

For those that already use Debian or LMDE . . . time to UPGRADE. :P
.
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby vrkalak on Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:38 pm

The Official Squeeze Announcement just hit DistroWatch.com.


Read the official Squeeze release announcement > http://news.debian.net/2011/02/06/debia ... ze-is-out/
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby dnmint on Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:58 pm

I have LMDE installed.
Do I have to anything 'special' with Squeeze release or
Continue with what I have.
Would be grateful for advice
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby dawgdoc on Sat Feb 05, 2011 10:02 pm

vrkalak wrote:I have been following the progress of the release of Debian 6.0p Squeeze via identi.ca for the past 17 hours.

vrkalak, there is a word for people like us, it is o......
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 Dual-Boot: Mint 17 Cinnamon, LMDE
READING: Smoke Screen by Dick Francis
User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2716
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Kentucky, USA the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby rivenathos on Sat Feb 05, 2011 10:12 pm

The Debian 6.0 Squeeze torrents are hot tonight. :D
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby rivenathos on Sat Feb 05, 2011 10:14 pm

dnmint,

No, you do not need to do anything special. Just keep on rolling along. You are good to go. :wink:
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby vrkalak on Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:57 am

rivenathos wrote:
dnmint wrote:Do I have to anything 'special' with Squeeze release or continue with what I have.


No, you do not need to do anything special. Just keep on rolling along. You are good to go. :wink:


Nothing different or special ... if you are 'set' to Testing.

Except wait a few hours for the 'testing' repositories to be 'reset' to the "new testing" version.
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby tdockery97 on Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:59 am

Yes Squeeze is official, and here it is:
Image
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4909
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby craig10x on Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:39 am

hmmm...looks like you are playing with kde now, tdockery97 from viewing your debian 6.0 screenshot :lol:
craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby tdockery97 on Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:14 am

craig10x wrote:hmmm...looks like you are playing with kde now, tdockery97 from viewing your debian 6.0 screenshot :lol:

Yes, it gives me a different DE to play with since my LMDE is Gnome.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4909
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby axxer on Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:18 am

tdockery97 wrote:Yes, it gives me a different DE to play with since my LMDE is Gnome.

i installed xfce on my lmde. removed all gnome stuff like gnome-core, libs, nautilus etc. i even replaced gdm with slim. now its freakin' fast without all that gnome bloated stuff :lol: :lol:
axxer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 4:12 am

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby dnmint on Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:57 pm

vrkalak wrote:
rivenathos wrote:
dnmint wrote:Do I have to anything 'special' with Squeeze release or continue with what I have.


No, you do not need to do anything special. Just keep on rolling along. You are good to go. :wink:


Nothing different or special ... if you are 'set' to Testing.

Except wait a few hours for the 'testing' repositories to be 'reset' to the "new testing" version.

I am a 73 year old - nongeek user of Mint. I switched to LMDE as I thought it will be updated through Updates & no need to go to another version.
I am not a 'tester' but just a 'user'.
Hence my request for advice as to 'what should I do ?'
Thanks
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby dnmint on Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:58 pm

axxer wrote:
tdockery97 wrote:Yes, it gives me a different DE to play with since my LMDE is Gnome.

i installed xfce on my lmde. removed all gnome stuff like gnome-core, libs, nautilus etc. i even replaced gdm with slim. now its freakin' fast without all that gnome bloated stuff :lol: :lol:

Can you help me by advising a step by step way of getting into xfce mode of LMDE ?
I would be grateful
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby vrkalak on Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:26 pm

dnmint wrote:Can you help me by advising a step by step way of getting into xfce mode of LMDE ?

Open the Synaptic Package Manager, in the 'search' bar ... type "xfce"

Right-click on the Xfce Meta Package choose to 'install' . . . . (Nothing else) All dependencies will be added automatically.

After the installation is complete ... re-boot your computer.

After the Grub screen, comes the Log-in screen ... at the Log-in screen, at the bottom, click on "Sessions", choose "Xfce" ... finish logging in.

This will not change anything in your Gnome desktop, and all files/documents and bookmarks will show up in Xfce.
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby dnmint on Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:54 pm

vrkalak wrote:
dnmint wrote:Can you help me by advising a step by step way of getting into xfce mode of LMDE ?

Open the Synaptic Package Manager, in the 'search' bar ... type "xfce"

Right-click on the Xfce Meta Package choose to 'install' . . . . (Nothing else) All dependencies will be added automatically.

After the installation is complete ... re-boot your computer.

After the Grub screen, comes the Log-in screen ... at the Log-in screen, at the bottom, click on "Sessions", choose "Xfce" ... finish logging in.

This will not change anything in your Gnome desktop, and all files/documents and bookmarks will show up in Xfce.

Thanks. Did all that.
I have autologin for my ID. No option for Sessions showed up even after I went to change Login to show login screen.
The system looks the same - including update manager packages. Only change is in the taskbar & Igot a new Icon 'Connected to Wired Network in addition to the 'normal Network Icon
What next ?
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby randomizer on Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:19 am

When are they going to support current wireless encryption standards in the installer? Every distro I have used except Debian has supported WPA/WPA2 for ages, yet it just keeps getting ignored. I think somebody submitted patches for WPA support back in 2008 but nobody bothered to merge them into the tree. It's now 2011; by the time WPA is supported it will be just as obsolete as WEP is now.
User avatar
randomizer
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 871
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:15 am

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby dnmint on Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:24 pm

dnmint wrote:
vrkalak wrote:
dnmint wrote:Can you help me by advising a step by step way of getting into xfce mode of LMDE ?

Open the Synaptic Package Manager, in the 'search' bar ... type "xfce"

Right-click on the Xfce Meta Package choose to 'install' . . . . (Nothing else) All dependencies will be added automatically.

After the installation is complete ... re-boot your computer.

After the Grub screen, comes the Log-in screen ... at the Log-in screen, at the bottom, click on "Sessions", choose "Xfce" ... finish logging in.

This will not change anything in your Gnome desktop, and all files/documents and bookmarks will show up in Xfce.

Thanks. Did all that.
I have autologin for my ID. No option for Sessions showed up even after I went to change Login to show login screen.
The system looks the same - including update manager packages. Only change is in the taskbar & Igot a new Icon 'Connected to Wired Network in addition to the 'normal Network Icon
What next ?

Still awaiting some advice....
Also how do I make it Squeeze XFCE so that I have a stable Xfce Debian edition
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby vrkalak on Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:16 pm

dnmint wrote:Still awaiting some advice....
Also how do I make it Squeeze XFCE so that I have a stable Xfce Debian edition


LMDE (LinuxMint-Debian) is based on Debian's "testing" branch for the Rolling Release aspect.

But, if you need a very 'stable' OS you might want to consider changing from 'testing' to 'stable'

Code: Select all
In the Terminal type:  gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

Change everywhere that says, 'testing' change it to say 'stable' or 'squeeze'

Then, in /etc/apt/preferences change 'testing' to 'squeeze'

Followed by sudo apt-get update

The Xfce desktop within Mint-Debian will not be affected, other than it will only recieve updates from the 'stable' repros.
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby dnmint on Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:19 pm

vrkalak wrote:
dnmint wrote:Still awaiting some advice....
Also how do I make it Squeeze XFCE so that I have a stable Xfce Debian edition


LMDE (LinuxMint-Debian) is based on Debian's "testing" branch for the Rolling Release aspect.

But, if you need a very 'stable' OS you might want to consider changing from 'testing' to 'stable'

Code: Select all
In the Terminal type:  [b]gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list[/b]

Change everywhere that says, 'testing' change it to say 'stable' or 'squeeze'

Then, in [b]/etc/apt/preferences[/b] change 'testing' to 'squeeze'

Followed by [b]sudo apt-get update[/b]

Thanks. Will I have Mint main or Xcfce.
If this makes it as Main Stable How do I change to Xfce - the liter version
Thanks again
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Squeeze is 'official'

Postby vrkalak on Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:23 pm

dnmint wrote:Thanks. Will I have Mint main or Xcfce.
If this makes it as Main Stable How do I change to Xfce - the liter version
Thanks again


You will have Debian Squeeze (stable) with whichever desktop environment you had initially.

If it was LMDE (Gnome) or Xfce or LXDE or Fluxbox . . . the desktop will stay they same as what was already installed.
Only the Repros will change from 'testing' to 'stable' ... everything installed will remain the same.
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests