Upstart thoughts

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Upstart thoughts

Postby Silent Warrior on Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:58 am

:D (This means: FLEE FOR YOUR LIVES!)

So, uh, I recently decided to try Gnome 3, shell and all (I shall not write about my feelings for it, hoping for the same courtesy from the rest of the pack :p - gives me time to figure out how to monkey about with Gtk3-themes) - just wanted to, you know, try it, for kicks - and then I started thinking about Upstart. Hasn't Fedora used it for a while now? What about openSuSE, Ubuntu, or yet others? I figured that with the, shall we say, rather invasive update due to dependencies I might as well go the whole nine yards. I still have a functional system, haven't I? But I get scaaaared when I see packages related to boot-up being replaced. (For the not-so-savvy don't-wanna-tinker-er, upstart replaces sysvinit, boot-critical system component.) Is anyone running upstart on LMDE right now?

Hm, perhaps I should go verify that bit about 'functional system'.
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby viking777 on Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:32 am

Is anyone running upstart on LMDE right now?


There are bound to be people that are running it since some people use unstable repos on LMDE. (To my mind they are not using LMDE in that case but that is another question).

Upstart runs quite happily on Mint10 as you probably already know (maybe debian sid too, but not sure about that) so it may well work on LMDE - would you believe it has been in use since 2006! Personally I won't be trying it just yet.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby LongRider on Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:37 pm

Call me a dinosaur, but I would rather keep the old sysvinit. It works! I have had problems with upstart, especially with network mounts. Sure there are workarounds but you shouldn't have to.
Fedora was using upstart but was supposed to drop it in favor of something else (the name escapes me). OpenSuse? I'm not sure.
The whole "race condition" from upstart reminds me of Win95. Sometimes things work, and sometimes they dont.
Personally, I wouldn't miss it should it happen to disappear forever.
HP Pavillion DV7 laptop, AMD Turion X2/64, 250 GB HD, 4GB ram, Atheros AR5001 wifi, Cisco WRT54GS router, Buffalo Linkstation Quad 4TB NAS w/Raid 5, Dual Booting: LM9-64bit/Gnome + LMDE. Life is good!
User avatar
LongRider
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Florida, New York, Texas (soon)

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby Silent Warrior on Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:26 am

I see - I'll wait, then. But, wow, going to Gnome 3 + Shell really made GDM look interesting! 8)
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby luis.nando on Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:26 pm

Some months ago I tried upstart on a LMDE machine, and it worked properly. I had to do a reinstallation of my system and now I uses sysvinit. I also upgraded to Gnome-shell, and I must say, the boot time is really a problem to me. I will give another try and I will let you know.

Regards.
ASUS UL30a2 LMDE 64bit
User avatar
luis.nando
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby lmdeman on Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:14 am

I was using upstart since its first introduction in Ubuntu and, do you know, it was the main reason why I switched away from Ubuntu... :evil:
If LMDE / Debian is going to replace sysvinit with upstart before they make it just work, then it's time for me to try and look for something else...
User avatar
lmdeman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 6:12 am

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby luis.nando on Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:56 am

Well, i tried again, but upstard (from the testing repo) is not working anyways...


Regards.
ASUS UL30a2 LMDE 64bit
User avatar
luis.nando
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby greenpen on Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:23 am

luis.nando wrote:Well, i tried again, but upstart (from the testing repo) is not working anyways...


Regards.
I'm having lots of trouble with upstart too. It won't let me shut down properly, coming up with various error messages and locking up on the background sometimes. Also only loading the clock applet every second boot up. I never had any trouble with MInt 10. I'm pretty sure it has to do with upstart. Any way I can re install the previous init daemon setup? :?:
greenpen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:18 pm

Re: Upstart thoughts

Postby jeffreyC on Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:52 pm

Upstart was temporary for Fedora. They are going to use systemd.
I have started to switch over to systemd myself, not rid of sysvinit completely yet.
No problems and faster boot so far.
The next version of systemd is intended to obsolete consolekit.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron