What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby bender on Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:11 am

Has Clem and the rest of the team decided how Mint will handle Gnome 3 once it makes it's way into Debian Testing? I know the "Latest" Repository can be used to hold it off, but you can only hold it off for so long.

Will the Mint Team develop a version of mintMenu that will work with Mutter and Gnome 3? Any thoughts of developing mintPanel, which will be similar to Gnome-panel, but will work on Mutter and Gnome 3. I would love to see Mint take a lead in developing a Desktop Environment that runs on top of Mutter and Gnome 3 and not rely on Gnome Shell at all. It will be an alternative to Gnome Shell, but will use the same technology stack (Gnome 3, Mutter etc).

I guess getting the Mint Tools to work off Gnome 3 Fallback mode would be an option, but Fallback mode seems like a half hearted attempt to port Gnome 2 components (Gnome-panel, Nautilus, Metacity etc) to Gnome 3. If the Gnome team can somehow backport the Aero Snap feature in Mutter to Fallback Mode, then I guess I can probably live with it.
Last edited by bender on Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
bender
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:11 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby xenopeek on Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:53 am

Interesting questions, looking forward to thoughts on this. Will be installing LMDE after iso respin, so any thoughts on the future here are welcome.

Maybe this will cause a rift in the space-time continuum? Sorry, watched too much scifi as a kid :lol:
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14735
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby Brian49 on Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:25 am

At the moment, I don't see why any user who doesn't wish to move to Gnome 3 can't simply pin all the relevant packages for as long as they wish. I currently have 62 packages pinned from the Unstable and Experimental repositories. In other words, there is nothing inevitable about making that move.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby zerozero on Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:43 pm

Brian, the way i see it, that is not doable in the long run (or not so long - let's talk about a couple months) gtk2 is simple being replaced by gtk3 (in a very slow way indeed) but there's no way back, unless you pick another DE; every day, every week, a new lib, a new pkg is ported to gtk3 in debian http://www.0d.be/debian/debian-gnome-3.0-status.html
the next debian stable will be most certainly gtk3 (shell or fallback-mode we will see)

As for LMDE, we can pin for awhile some libs, we can hold some pkgs, but at certain point it will be impossible to stop the flux;
at least this is my take on this :D
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby Brian49 on Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:04 pm

zerozero - I see your point, but if I'm perfectly happy with my desktop the way it is, I don't have to accept any package upgrades related to Gnome 3, even if there are hundreds of them.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby jeffreyC on Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:28 pm

I am also holding back on upgrading packages to gtk3, even though i run Xfce, Fluxbox and other window managers and not Gnome.
Currently gtk3 is really ugly, the theme looks like Raleigh, in other words no theme.
And there are few good themes anywhere, as one of the theme artists said, it will take a while.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby Roken on Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:58 pm

I'm one of those enforced early adopter types, by which I mean I try not to force updates on myself (unless I have a very compelling reason), but I'll install those updates as soon as they hit Testing, and I guess I'll probably do the same with gtk3, gnome 3 etc. Having said that, I've invested a lot of time and effort into making my desktop something that I find aesthetically pleasing, and works the way I want it to, so I'll defer to my tried and trusted fallback of a full system backup before any major updates. If and when the updates come, I'll only be ten minutes away from putting things back exactly as they were, so I can experiment to my hearts content without any major headaches.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby Brian49 on Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:15 pm

It looks as though all the packages related to Gnome 3 have now been removed from the Unstable repository, which I am tracking. I had a couple of dozen such packages pinned because I prefer to stay with Gnome 2, but I've just unpinned them and the Gnome 3 versions no longer show up as available upgrades.

Edit: Apologies, it must have been a glitch on my system; the packages have reappeared as upgradable.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby thermodynamics4 on Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:45 am

Vincent Vermeulen wrote:Interesting questions, looking forward to thoughts on this. Will be installing LMDE after iso respin, so any thoughts on the future here are welcome.

Maybe this will cause a rift in the space-time continuum? Sorry, watched too much scifi as a kid :lol:



hahaha! nice comment, I watch Sci-Fi too... :mrgreen:
Thinkpad Lenovo T400 Core 2 Duo CPU P8400 2.26Mhz. 2G HD 250G. GM 4500 HD.Intel Pro Wireless Link 5100 AGN, Alfa 1000mw. LMDE, BackTrack and XP.

Thinkpad lenovo X61 T7500 2.2Mhz. 3Gb, HD 320G. Wireless 8191SE, Intel 3945, bluetooth. Debian 6.0, LMDE.
User avatar
thermodynamics4
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:50 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby wyrdoak on Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:13 am

Screenshot.png
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby viking777 on Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:41 am

wyrdoak wrote:
Screenshot.png


Have you got some strange mixture of sources wyrdoak - the 3.0.3 kernel was not part of the update pack 3 that I installed yesterday. It gave me version 3.0.0-1. And I am talking about LMDE gnome rc tracking incoming. My system monitor doesn't look anything like yours either (although I suppose that might be a theme thing) but it definitely doesn't have any line indicating the desktop version (though all the other information is the same).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby wyrdoak on Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:47 am

The only thing that didn't come down the line was the Kernel I compiled it about 3weeks ago to take care of some hardware configurations (after a BIO's update)the 2.6.39 just didn't quit get right.

EDIT: The only thing I can think of that might have been different is I saw the update indicator in the panel and updated before I logged on and found Clem's warning about the source.list change.
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby zerozero on Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:34 am

that's an interesting thing that: somewhere between the jul/30 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268#p455404 and maybe the Aug/06 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268#p457985 (tho here i don't know if Gene is running wheezy or sid), but definitely the Aug/25 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268&start=20#p464978 that info shows up in testing's sys-mon
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby wyrdoak on Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:50 am

I got an update to the System Monitor updated on the 26th(Update Packet 2). I updated my Bio's after I re installed Win7 on my other partition because Acer was having problems with the battery charger with OS's other than WindowS. After the update the Power Manager every time I unplugged the Netbook I would tell me my battery was not fully charged on a full charge and try to shut down, also The System Profiler was not finding a battery at all.

After the Kernel upgrade everything seems to be working correctly now.
Last edited by wyrdoak on Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby viking777 on Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:53 am

zerozero wrote:that's an interesting thing that: somewhere between the jul/30 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268#p455404 and maybe the Aug/06 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268#p457985 (tho here i don't know if Gene is running wheezy or sid), but definitely the Aug/25 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268&start=20#p464978 that info shows up in testing's sys-mon


Well I have both a testing and an incoming lmde now and that line about the DE doesn't appear in the System Monitor of either version. Maybe it is because I have two desktop environments installed on both versions and it can't decide which one is running - although it is not as if I can boot into both environments at once, so you think it would be able to detect which it is. Still it is of so little importance that this evenings beer won't be watered down with tears :lol:
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby zerozero on Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:01 am

well, yeahh, just a slow afternoon i think
enjoy your pint 8)
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby wyrdoak on Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:03 am

Desktop seems to work the same as it always did. So I can still find my way around, even if I have one to many, Just don't tell the Internet Police if I'm drunk surfing. :lol:
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby zerozero on Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:11 am

this wasn't yet the big jump to gtk3
i'm following the mailing list http://lists.debian.org/debian-gtk-gnome/ and it seems that, atm, everything is in hold, preparing the big transitions:
nautilus, gnome-panel and GNOME itself http://lists.debian.org/debian-release/ ... 00111.html
i believe we are in the calm before the storm :lol:
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby GeneC on Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:19 am

zerozero wrote:that's an interesting thing that: somewhere between the jul/30 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268#p455404 and maybe the Aug/06 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268#p457985 (tho here i don't know if Gene is running wheezy or sid), but definitely the Aug/25 viewtopic.php?f=141&t=78268&start=20#p464978 that info shows up in testing's sys-mon


Hey "ZZ"

GOD only knows what I was running in that particulat setup. I change things so much. :lol:
I do believe that last setup was Testing with the Liquorix kernel.
(Which is NOW "SID" with Liquorix)

wyrdoak

I see we are using the same theme. (Minty-fied Atolm)
What is that Emerald theme you are using?
Its neat.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon/XFCE)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Cin 2.2 (SID)
OpenSUSE 13.1 (Gnome)
Evolve OS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: What happens when Gnome 3 appears in Debian Testing?

Postby wyrdoak on Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:29 am

No it Metacity Polaris Green window borders. I even made a png for my taskbar so it would match.


Got it from Gnome-Look
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests