[SOLVED] How do I test Gnome3

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:02 pm

I have LInux mint Debian and would like to test Gnome3 as a separate DE.
How do I go about this?

Here is my Sources.list:
# # Experimental
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org experimental main non-free

# # Testing
deb http://mirror.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/linuxmint-packages/ debian main upstream import
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

# # Incoming
# deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free

# # Latest
# deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
Last edited by dcihon on Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby GeneC on Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:07 pm

If you want a MINT Debian base, I would say the 'easiest' way is to change LMDE Gnome to tracking SID (no need for experimental), and just do a full Distribution Update. Everything you need will be updated to Gnome3 with Shell and Fallback mode. Turn off compiz, log-out, log back in to Shell or Fallback mode. Its that easy.

My LMDE SID sources list

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free #"Debian Security"
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free #"SID Multimedia"
deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free #"SID"
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

LMDE (Cinnamon)
Debian (Gnome Shell 3.8.4 - Testing)
Siduction (XFCE -Debian SID)
Makulu 5 (XFCE-Testing)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:58 pm

Downloading now.
Have turned off Compiz.
Time to do some reading.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby GeneC on Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:56 pm

Good luck

LOTS of package updates.

Should you have any problems
(Should not be many, seems most of the problems were in testing, and you were already there)

Take a look at this thread with SID breakages.
viewtopic.php?f=198&t=70230&start=280#p483502

You will want to also download 'gnome-tweak-tool' if you want to change most anything with fonts, themes, et.

Also look here.
http://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell/CheatSheet
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

LMDE (Cinnamon)
Debian (Gnome Shell 3.8.4 - Testing)
Siduction (XFCE -Debian SID)
Makulu 5 (XFCE-Testing)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby autocrosser on Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:10 pm

And for the status of Gnome3--just read thru: viewtopic.php?f=201&t=65745 There is lots of info available in the thread---also lots of reading......
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:01 pm

Thanks guys.
All looking good so far.
Now onto playing with extensions.

Will I get 3.2 automatically when it is released here?

Also looks like I got a new kernel that doesn't work.
Reverted back to previous kernel.
Linux danc-linux-mint-debian 3.0.0-1-amd64 #1 SMP Tue Sep 20 07:03:13 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby GeneC on Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:05 pm

dcihon wrote:Thanks guys.
All looking good so far.
Now onto playing with extensions.

Will I get 3.2 automatically when it is released here?
'''''''''''


Yes, some of it is now in Experimental
viewtopic.php?f=201&t=65745&start=440#p486441

No telling when all of it gets there.

Have fun.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

LMDE (Cinnamon)
Debian (Gnome Shell 3.8.4 - Testing)
Siduction (XFCE -Debian SID)
Makulu 5 (XFCE-Testing)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:39 pm

I know I don't know all of what I am doing yet. Learning little by little.
Dove in to SID and just updated. I received a kernel 3.1.0-1-amd64
After rebooting I don't have my nvidia anymore is what I think has happened.
I am at a console login prompt.
I reverted back to 3.0.0-1 so I could get back to a working system.
I guess what my question is:
How do I get 3.1.0-1 to boot up?
Code: Select all
Graphics:  Card nVidia G98M [Quadro NVS 160M] X.org 1.10.4 Res: 104x24 Gfx Data: N/A for root
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby autocrosser on Sat Nov 19, 2011 2:04 pm

dcihon wrote:I know I don't know all of what I am doing yet. Learning little by little.
Dove in to SID and just updated. I received a kernel 3.1.0-1-amd64
After rebooting I don't have my nvidia anymore is what I think has happened.
I am at a console login prompt.
I reverted back to 3.0.0-1 so I could get back to a working system.
I guess what my question is:
How do I get 3.1.0-1 to boot up?
Code: Select all
Graphics:  Card nVidia G98M [Quadro NVS 160M] X.org 1.10.4 Res: 104x24 Gfx Data: N/A for root


Sorry I haven't got back to you before now...All the 3.x.x kernels have a problem during the build process & the makefile needs to be patched everytime you do a kernel upgrade..

First download the upgrade
next patch the kernel module makefile (/usr/src/linux-headers-3.x.x)
then run nvidia-kernel-dkms (if you are running the Debian-supplied driver)

Here's the patch file:

--- /usr/src/linux-headers-3.x.x/Makefile-old 2011-07-25 21:12:52.554079823 +0200
+++ /usr/src/linux-headers-3.x.x/Makefile 2011-07-25 21:14:50.342072676 +0200
@@ -7,5 +7,7 @@
all:
@$(MAKE) $(MAKEARGS) $(cmd)
Makefile:;
-$(cmd) %/: all
+$(cmd): all
+ @:
+%/: all
@:

I manually patch the file with:
+$(cmd): all
+ @:
+%/: all
@:
and then clean it up (remove the +'s)
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:38 am

Sorry I kind of switched subjects in the middle of this email.
Sometimes one thing leads to a different thing.
I fixed the 3.1 problem from this thread that I also started:

viewtopic.php?f=189&t=85908

I didn't mean to start two threads with the same issue.
This one was suppose to be about testing Gnome 3.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests