[SOLVED] How do I test Gnome3

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:02 pm

I have LInux mint Debian and would like to test Gnome3 as a separate DE.
How do I go about this?

Here is my Sources.list:
# # Experimental
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org experimental main non-free

# # Testing
deb http://mirror.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/linuxmint-packages/ debian main upstream import
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

# # Incoming
# deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming/multimedia testing main non-free

# # Latest
# deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
# deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
Last edited by dcihon on Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby GeneC on Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:07 pm

If you want a MINT Debian base, I would say the 'easiest' way is to change LMDE Gnome to tracking SID (no need for experimental), and just do a full Distribution Update. Everything you need will be updated to Gnome3 with Shell and Fallback mode. Turn off compiz, log-out, log back in to Shell or Fallback mode. Its that easy.

My LMDE SID sources list

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free #"Debian Security"
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free #"SID Multimedia"
deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free #"SID"
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:58 pm

Downloading now.
Have turned off Compiz.
Time to do some reading.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby GeneC on Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:56 pm

Good luck

LOTS of package updates.

Should you have any problems
(Should not be many, seems most of the problems were in testing, and you were already there)

Take a look at this thread with SID breakages.
viewtopic.php?f=198&t=70230&start=280#p483502

You will want to also download 'gnome-tweak-tool' if you want to change most anything with fonts, themes, et.

Also look here.
http://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell/CheatSheet
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby autocrosser on Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:10 pm

And for the status of Gnome3--just read thru: viewtopic.php?f=201&t=65745 There is lots of info available in the thread---also lots of reading......
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:01 pm

Thanks guys.
All looking good so far.
Now onto playing with extensions.

Will I get 3.2 automatically when it is released here?

Also looks like I got a new kernel that doesn't work.
Reverted back to previous kernel.
Linux danc-linux-mint-debian 3.0.0-1-amd64 #1 SMP Tue Sep 20 07:03:13 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby GeneC on Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:05 pm

dcihon wrote:Thanks guys.
All looking good so far.
Now onto playing with extensions.

Will I get 3.2 automatically when it is released here?
'''''''''''


Yes, some of it is now in Experimental
viewtopic.php?f=201&t=65745&start=440#p486441

No telling when all of it gets there.

Have fun.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:39 pm

I know I don't know all of what I am doing yet. Learning little by little.
Dove in to SID and just updated. I received a kernel 3.1.0-1-amd64
After rebooting I don't have my nvidia anymore is what I think has happened.
I am at a console login prompt.
I reverted back to 3.0.0-1 so I could get back to a working system.
I guess what my question is:
How do I get 3.1.0-1 to boot up?
Code: Select all
Graphics:  Card nVidia G98M [Quadro NVS 160M] X.org 1.10.4 Res: 104x24 Gfx Data: N/A for root
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby autocrosser on Sat Nov 19, 2011 2:04 pm

dcihon wrote:I know I don't know all of what I am doing yet. Learning little by little.
Dove in to SID and just updated. I received a kernel 3.1.0-1-amd64
After rebooting I don't have my nvidia anymore is what I think has happened.
I am at a console login prompt.
I reverted back to 3.0.0-1 so I could get back to a working system.
I guess what my question is:
How do I get 3.1.0-1 to boot up?
Code: Select all
Graphics:  Card nVidia G98M [Quadro NVS 160M] X.org 1.10.4 Res: 104x24 Gfx Data: N/A for root


Sorry I haven't got back to you before now...All the 3.x.x kernels have a problem during the build process & the makefile needs to be patched everytime you do a kernel upgrade..

First download the upgrade
next patch the kernel module makefile (/usr/src/linux-headers-3.x.x)
then run nvidia-kernel-dkms (if you are running the Debian-supplied driver)

Here's the patch file:

--- /usr/src/linux-headers-3.x.x/Makefile-old 2011-07-25 21:12:52.554079823 +0200
+++ /usr/src/linux-headers-3.x.x/Makefile 2011-07-25 21:14:50.342072676 +0200
@@ -7,5 +7,7 @@
all:
@$(MAKE) $(MAKEARGS) $(cmd)
Makefile:;
-$(cmd) %/: all
+$(cmd): all
+ @:
+%/: all
@:

I manually patch the file with:
+$(cmd): all
+ @:
+%/: all
@:
and then clean it up (remove the +'s)
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: How do I test Gnome3

Postby dcihon on Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:38 am

Sorry I kind of switched subjects in the middle of this email.
Sometimes one thing leads to a different thing.
I fixed the 3.1 problem from this thread that I also started:

viewtopic.php?f=189&t=85908

I didn't mean to start two threads with the same issue.
This one was suppose to be about testing Gnome 3.
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests