Did Updates get a Trickle? (answered)

Discuss non-support related topics related to LMDE.
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Did Updates get a Trickle? (answered)

Postby jjaythomas on Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:25 am

I had to reinstall LMDE (XFCE) because of messing around with a new tablet (Thinkpad x200T) (atleast new to me :lol: ) and Borked the Tab.
I seem to rememer the # of updates being 3-4 less then they were this time. And I now have Firefox 9 with Duck Duck Go.
Is it my imagination or did LMDE pack 3 actually get a couple of updates?

J.Jay

Sorry just had to say thought Clem closed the 'Sleeping Distro' discussion very elegently.
J.Jay
Last edited by jjaythomas on Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Did Updates get a Trickle?

Postby stz*j on Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:19 am

No, it's not your imagination (too bad :P). I can confirm that Firefox 9 IS part of the updates today. Not that big a matter for me, but glad that it trickled through :)
LMDE (Release 1), tracking debian testing, Kernel 3.14.1-686-pae i686 (32 bit), MATE & Enlightenment;
Plays (and rescues system) with experimental and sid repos on another partition with Cinnamon & Gnome3, if grub boots nice that is.
stz*j
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 3:08 am

Re: Did Updates get a Trickle?

Postby jjaythomas on Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:30 pm

Thanks for confirmation 'I thought maybe I was always Upgrading UPs wrong till now' :o

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Did Updates get a Trickle?

Postby rhodry on Sat Jan 07, 2012 1:52 am

I think you will find Firefox is NOT part of the Update Packs because it comes from the Linuxmint Packages repos not Debian Testing copies used for update packs. So, there may be a trickle of updates in those repos but nothing in "Packs".

Not before time that Firefox has had an update as well. Getting a bit embarrassing for the so-called new "wonder kid" of Linux to be languishing at v5 of Firefox?!

Clem made it quite clear (in his closing the 'Sleeping Distro' thread) that LMDE-Xfce users can "take a hike" regards updates until he is good & ready - even though the Gnome3 issues have little or no bearing on them AT ALL!

I am currently migrating over 100 users off LMDE-Xfce ( as there is no interest in supporting that distro here whatsoever). Last night, did another fresh install of Debian Testing weekly build with Xfce DE, added all relevant codecs, drivers etc and a handful of updates to be up & running (themed according to preferences) within about one & a half hours, start to finish. It would take longer than that just to download the upgrade packages to shift LMDE to Testing!! (Clem's suggestion) :(

Good luck with the waiting.
rhodry.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
it's about learning to dance in the rain.
rhodry
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:32 am

Re: Did Updates get a Trickle?

Postby viking777 on Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:19 am

Hooray! FF9 in LMDE testing! I switched to using Iceweasel because of FF being stuck at 5. I will switch back again now.
As for update packs - least said, soonest mended :(

Edit. I just did this and for some bizarre reason I ended up with the Afrikaans localisation :shock: - makes it a little tricky to use!

If anyone else has a similar problem you can fix it by going into Synaptic, removing the incorrect language pack and adding the correct one.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Did Updates get a Trickle?

Postby longtom on Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:33 am

viking777 wrote:Hooray! FF9 in LMDE testing! I switched to using Iceweasel because of FF being stuck at 5. I will switch back again now.
As for update packs - least said, soonest mended :(

Edit. I just did this and for some bizarre reason I ended up with the Afrikaans localisation :shock: - makes it a little tricky to use!

If anyone else has a similar problem you can fix it by going into Synaptic, removing the incorrect language pack and adding the correct one.


Clem knows I joined the ring of LMDE xcfe users and he felt obliged to localise FF for me. I appreciate this but didn't expect anything less .... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

If you need any help with translations let me know .... :lol: :P
Regards

longtom
User avatar
longtom
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:21 am

Re: Did Updates get a Trickle?

Postby Arran on Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:07 am

viking777 wrote:Edit. I just did this and for some bizarre reason I ended up with the Afrikaans localisation :shock: - makes it a little tricky to use!


A little reminder to Ubuntu's roots...

I stick with ICEWEASEL. No need for me to change a winning horse.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Image
OS: Mint12 KDE, Graphic: Nvidia I4800-GS, Monitor: HP LP2065, «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!
User avatar
Arran
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest