clonezilla help

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

clonezilla help

Postby Sawer on Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:37 pm

I'm new to LMDE and would like to backup my LMDE system. I've downloaded and burned Clonezilla, all good so far. I've read a couple of how to's but they don't seem to make sense to me, maybe I'm missing something. If I choose disc to image I don't see how to select just my LMDE partitions, I have both a / and /home. I'm backing up to a external HD which is showing up. Do I need to make a partition ion the external HD? Right now it's just one big one labeled storage.
Thanks for any insight
Sawer
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: clonezilla help

Postby GeneBenson on Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:21 pm

Hi Sawer,

I'm no Clonezilla expert but I do use it. "disc to image" is just that. It backs up the entire disc, one partition at a time. So it will most likely start with "/" and then "/home", plus some more stuff. Each of these is kept in a separate file so should you ever need to do a restore you can chose to do the entire disc or just one partition.

You could make a separate partition to store the backups. It's really up to you. I just store them in a partition, on a second HDD, which already existed when I installed LMDE. It is an NTFS partition, which tells you something of where I came from. If you do decide to create a separate partition, just make sure it's one of the types that Clonezilla supports (which is really stating the obvious). :wink:
GeneBenson
Level 3
Level 3

Postby Sawer on Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:46 pm