I've had a Testing-moment.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Silent Warrior on Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:03 am

:D

Ok, there I am, happily computing away on the Liquorix-kernel, and what do I see? OpenOffice breaks! :shock: Yep, sure as I'm standing here, the 2.6.36-liquorix-offering breaks OpenOffice for me - BUT NOTHING ELSE. How about that, eh? So, back on the older Debian .32-kernel, things are back to normal. (2.6.35 worked, but I couldn't find it in Liquorix's repository again.)

I'm having great fun with LMDE. It is, however, a bit more maintenance-heavy than I think I have the time for at this particular system... I'll consider switching my main desktop over to LMDE, but for my present needs, I guess rolling isn't the wisest move. Thanks to bobcollard (see 'Fedora 12'-topic) I'm planning to try Fedora's latest offering - though the LiveCD throws a kernel-panic at me. (Not on boot; only after monkeying around a bit.) :mrgreen:
So... about Julia...?
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby tdockery97 on Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:14 am

I unfortunately must agree about LMDE being maintenance heavy. Enough so that I have removed it and given the extra space over to Julia. I'll keep my Clonezilla backup of LMDE just in case I feel the itch again.

I think Julia is Mint's crowning achievement. For my personal taste, it feels far and away ahead of Mint 9. One of the most notable improvements for me personally is in temperature control. My laptop is running a full 10 degrees cooler on Julia than it did on Isadora or LMDE. That alone was enough to sell me. :D.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4880
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby vicshrike on Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:04 am

it is still early days for LMDE so please have a little patience with it, it has it `s quirks `n ` quarks sure but I am enjoying it so far...
vicshrike
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:14 am
Location: /debian/openbox

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Silent Warrior on Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:19 pm

tdockery: I shall await the release with bated breath!

vicshrike: Yes, I noticed, and I enjoy it too. But now I'm at a point in my life where it will be... disruptive if I have to spend a day or two trying to recover from an over-eager update that may or may not ravage my essay-writing-facilities. I just don't have the time to spare right now. I expect I'll be back to LMDE in the not too distant future, though. Maybe even before Squeeze is out? :twisted:
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby k3lt01 on Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:01 pm

Silent Warrior wrote: I expect I'll be back to LMDE in the not too distant future, though. Maybe even before Squeeze is out? :twisted:
You know Squeeze is slated for release in December.
k3lt01
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:07 pm

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Bordee on Wed Nov 03, 2010 8:57 pm

@Silent Warrior: I've been using the Liquorix 2.6.35 kernel for a while on LMDE running Sid, and when I upgraded to the 2.6.36 liquorix kernel, it broke Chromium, where it went to a black screen, with the cursor frozen, indicating kernels failures running Chromium. This happened to me twice, and both times I had to manually power down the computer. I since reverted back to liquorix 2.6.35.8 and am running smoothly.

You still might be able to find the old liquorix packages in synaptic -- assuming you haven't cleaned out the cache recently -- by simply doing a seach in Synaptic of "2.6.35". That's how I found my old kernel and reinstalled it.

Also, A few weeks ago, I tried 2.6.36 from Debian Experimental Repos, and I couldn't get that kernel to run properly with my external monitor. I'm wondering if anybody else has had problems with the 2.6.36 kernel?
Bordee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby sgosnell on Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:10 pm

Silent Warrior, the previous kernel should still be installed, unless you specifically removed it. You should be able to boot to it from the boot menu, by selecting the proper version. Adding new kernels doesn't remove old ones.
Asus eee-pc 900 w/ 32GB SSD.
sgosnell
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:32 pm
Location: Baja Oklahoma

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby gotjazz on Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:57 am

also i wouldn't put liquorix or experimental related breakage on lmde's tab ;)
Image
User avatar
gotjazz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:38 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby ChromeMukuro on Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:22 am

I use liquorix and I've noticed only great improvement. My system runs faster, and my webcam works without needing to play usb pellmanism.
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony
User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby azathoth on Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:56 am

I've been using a Sid/Lqx setup for a while now and have had no probs at all. I am currently using 2.6.36-0.dmz.5 and OO works great.
I don't use Chromium myself but FF and Opera are working fine. In fact I'm hard wired on Comcast's Xfinity Xtreme (100Mb/s) and with the last couple of upgrades it seems like I've been able to grab a little more bandwidth each time.(perceived, it's probably just raw throughput though.)
Anyway, Sid/Liquorix hasn't given me any trouble at all.
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Silent Warrior on Fri Nov 05, 2010 1:28 am

Well, it took me longer to notice OpenOffice breaking than removing the previous Liquorix-offering, and having severely limited HD-space... I know that's nothing to do with LMDE, but on closer reading it should come to light that the maintenance in general is more effort than I should spend right now. Though, actually, it seemed OpenOffice was still messed up even after the kernel-reversion... So, with the system buggered beyond my skills to mend, I went ahead and gave Fedora 14 a spin - and so far, so good. A different beast altogether, but as long as I get OO, Audacious and Denemo, I'm happy enough. I would really like to know why KDE goes funny, though... Anyway, that's for the Fedora-bunch.

k3lt01: Mm, yes, well, they have their release-when-ready-policy, don't they? Hey, still, I expect to have my banking issues to be solved by December, so I'll be distribution- and browser-agnostic again either way. It seems Fedora actually has a third-party repository for the utility that was the original cause for the bank-stuff... Interesting times ahead.
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby damentz on Fri Nov 05, 2010 1:48 am

Bordee wrote:@Silent Warrior: I've been using the Liquorix 2.6.35 kernel for a while on LMDE running Sid, and when I upgraded to the 2.6.36 liquorix kernel, it broke Chromium, where it went to a black screen, with the cursor frozen, indicating kernels failures running Chromium. This happened to me twice, and both times I had to manually power down the computer. I since reverted back to liquorix 2.6.35.8 and am running smoothly.

You still might be able to find the old liquorix packages in synaptic -- assuming you haven't cleaned out the cache recently -- by simply doing a seach in Synaptic of "2.6.35". That's how I found my old kernel and reinstalled it.

Also, A few weeks ago, I tried 2.6.36 from Debian Experimental Repos, and I couldn't get that kernel to run properly with my external monitor. I'm wondering if anybody else has had problems with the 2.6.36 kernel?


Update your source line for your liquorix sources to read:
Code: Select all
deb http://liquorix.net/debian sid main past


I put the last stable kernel series into the past branch and update them periodically. If you're feeling adventurous and your time is no object, you can add the branch, future, to the source line too.
damentz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 1:40 am

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby blowtorch on Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:17 am

damentz wrote:Update your source line for your liquorix sources to read:
Code: Select all
deb http://liquorix.net/debian sid main past


I put the last stable kernel series into the past branch and update them periodically. If you're feeling adventurous and your time is no object, you can add the branch, future, to the source line too.


Thanks for the great work your kernels are the best! 8)
User avatar
blowtorch
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:03 pm

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby azathoth on Fri Nov 05, 2010 1:40 pm

damentz wrote:
Bordee wrote:@Silent Warrior: I've been using the Liquorix 2.6.35 kernel for a while on LMDE running Sid, and when I upgraded to the 2.6.36 liquorix kernel, it broke Chromium, where it went to a black screen, with the cursor frozen, indicating kernels failures running Chromium. This happened to me twice, and both times I had to manually power down the computer. I since reverted back to liquorix 2.6.35.8 and am running smoothly.

You still might be able to find the old liquorix packages in synaptic -- assuming you haven't cleaned out the cache recently -- by simply doing a seach in Synaptic of "2.6.35". That's how I found my old kernel and reinstalled it.

Also, A few weeks ago, I tried 2.6.36 from Debian Experimental Repos, and I couldn't get that kernel to run properly with my external monitor. I'm wondering if anybody else has had problems with the 2.6.36 kernel?


Update your source line for your liquorix sources to read:
Code: Select all
deb http://liquorix.net/debian sid main past


I put the last stable kernel series into the past branch and update them periodically. If you're feeling adventurous and your time is no object, you can add the branch, future, to the source line too.


:shock: Wow, a celebrity guest! Loving your work - like the man said, your kernels are the s##t!
That future branch does look interesting, thrills and chills. Things have been pretty mellow in the sid repos so I think I'll try it for a while (bug reports too of course.)
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Bordee on Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:51 pm

I agree with the above posters. I've enjoyed using your kernels and appreciate all of your hard work and effort. Keep up the great job!
Bordee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby tdockery97 on Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:35 am

Great job damentz; love your work. :D
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4880
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:59 am

tdockery97 wrote:I unfortunately must agree about LMDE being maintenance heavy. Enough so that I have removed it and given the extra space over to Julia. I'll keep my Clonezilla backup of LMDE just in case I feel the itch again.

I think Julia is Mint's crowning achievement. For my personal taste, it feels far and away ahead of Mint 9. One of the most notable improvements for me personally is in temperature control. My laptop is running a full 10 degrees cooler on Julia than it did on Isadora or LMDE. That alone was enough to sell me. :D.

Clonezilla has one difficulty when you have a multiboot config. I tried with a testdistro. At restore it writes Grub in the MBR... How dare it. It has to ask where to put the Grub-info. To MBR or to partition.
So after that you can't start the other OS-s. Repair: I restored afterwords the testdistro, pointed its Grub1 to partition and did a new install of the OS wich I like to have the MBR (also the other OS-es), did a restore MBR and go.

Other tool?
Others like 'Partimage' etc. can't save a 'nul image-block' of the partition of LMDE(??) Ik don't know what to think of that.
'Live Magic' in LMDE does about 2,5 hours..!!! on making a livecd.iso and then you have a sort of original, but not your custom
livecd of your LMDE.

So I'm still searching a smooth remastertool for LMDE or else I can't work with LMDE.
There will be always reasons forcing you to restore (so also to backup) your system or to put it in another partition or HD.
(Remastersys, which did a hell of a job for me with former Ubuntu/Mint distro's, is not 'on' at the moment.)

LMDE looks fine and stable. I have set it to 'squeeze'. Did not leave it in 'testing'. And synchronized.
No problems. Great job Clem! :D
(I only have some tiny colourshift in text at the moment, when I use Firefox.) But that is minor. :)
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby sgosnell on Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:38 am

Try remastersys. I haven't used it for backing up/restoring multi-boot systems, but it works well on a pure Linux install.
Asus eee-pc 900 w/ 32GB SSD.
sgosnell
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:32 pm
Location: Baja Oklahoma

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby gotjazz on Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:43 am

@damentz: First of all thanks for all your work - I've been using those kernels for 2 months or something now and couldn't be happier. Still I'd like to stay on the save side and use the "past" "stable" ones and I was just thinking that'd i'd be cool if they also had a metapackage the way the regular ones do. Just thinking out aloud though :D

Thanks and keep up the good work
Image
User avatar
gotjazz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:38 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:51 am

sgosnell wrote:Try remastersys. I haven't used it for backing up/restoring multi-boot systems, but it works well on a pure Linux install.

I used it with Mint 6, 7 and 8 (Oh and the Ubuntu's). Great tool. Like remasterme of mylivecd in PCLOS.
But like I wrote: I'm sorry to say it is off for days if not for weeks on the site for the Debian (LMDE user). :wink:
There are different Remastersyses.
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests